Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 116

Thread: Path Creator with SPS support (reflec coming)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    111
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default Path Creator with SPS support

    Hello, I present to you a path creator.



    The coding is poor and done in VB.NET, but its something.

    People report that the points may not exactly correlate correctly. This a problem SPS_GetMyPos with if I am correct.

    Quote Originally Posted by coh3n
    Also, SPS_GetMyPos isn't 100% accurate so it won't be exact. It also doesn't work well in certain areas which causes it to return a position that's no where near where the player actually is.
    Features:
    Dynamically re-sizable window.
    Jump to towns (Varr, Fal, Lum, Ard, Seer)
    Shows the extents of the minimap
    Allows replacement of points

    Instructions

    To download, download "Path Creator Vx.x.exe" from the bottom of this post.

    To use this you must first locate your SPS map:
    Quote Originally Posted by frijole View Post
    C:\Simba\Includes\SPS\img\runescape_surface\runesc ape_surface.png

    You can make a copy of that image and name it "runescape_surface_map.png" .
    Then put it in the same folder as the Path Creator.

    OR

    You can click on the "New Image" button in the Path Creator and browse to the image.
    Click some points and try to keep them inside the circle (that is the MM) then press the "Click to generate" text box. It will display the path and also save it to the clipboard.

    To replace a point select it in the right list and press replace then choose a new point for it.

    To Move around the map you can either:
    - use the scroll bars
    - or Click and drag on the map to pan

    To jump to towns click on the towns name.
    To re-size the windows grab it from the edges of the form.

    To choose a new image, press "New Image".

    It is possible that you will require a VB redistributable (from MS site) though I'm unsure. Also I have not tested the accuracy of the paths though they should be good.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    v0.4 extra features:
    -Replaced town buttons with a combobox (suggest towns that you would like to see added)
    -Fixed the error when pressing "Redraw" with no points
    -Added reflection support (may not be accurate) using the following conversion:
    function SPS_PixelToPoint(pixel: tpoint): TPoint;
    begin
    Result.X := Round(2093.5 + (pixel.X / 4));
    Result.Y := Round(3776.0 - (pixel.Y / 4));
    end;
    v0.5 extra features
    SPS_Areas support!

    v0.6 updated
    Put in the new map for SPS. Also the new conversion for reflection is:
    function SPS_PixelToPoint(pixel: tpoint): TPoint;
    begin
    Result.X := Round(2044.5 + (pixel.X / 4));
    Result.Y := Round(4158.0 - (pixel.Y / 4));
    end;
    v0.7 panning
    The ability to pan around the map has been added.

    v0.8 updated
    When in reflection mode the list view now displays the path tiles and not the SPS pixels.

    v0.9 updated
    The program now gets the map from an external file. Also the ability to use a different image has been added.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Thats about it,
    Thanks
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Wolygon; 04-11-2012 at 03:48 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    111
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Post Edit Log:

    14/6/11 - Public release v0.3

    14/6/11 - v0.4 released
    Quote Originally Posted by Removed
    I have created this application because SPS does not have any path making support. I thought that I would add in reflection paths however I am unsure on the conversion from map co-ords to tiles so it will have to wait.
    15/6/11 - v0.5 released
    Quote Originally Posted by Removed
    Also with the naming discrepancy I am in the process of trying to change my name in this thread:
    http://villavu.com/forum/showthread....ghlight=change
    However it seems to be taking a while...
    Quote Originally Posted by Removed
    It is currently unable to generate the "SPS_Areas" so this will have to be done manually. The reason for this is because the tiles are not just 500x500 tiled chop outs of the main map (they overlap, etc). This means I would have to find the co-ords of all the squares (~150) on the main map (a lot of time). Hopefully someone (Marpis) knows this information already.
    20/10/11 - v0.6 released
    Quote Originally Posted by Removed
    It is designed for SPS however it also supports reflection.

    The coding is poor, repetitive and crude especially since I've never done half the things that were required. But it works, which is the main thing. I'll be able to improve it though I'm a bit strapped for time so I thought I'd release it even though it isn't perfect.

    Also its only done in VB.NET as I'm not good enough for C++, yet.
    20/10/11 - v0.7 released

    22/10/11 - v0.8 released

    23/10/11 - v0.9 released

    11/04/12 - Updated page information
    Quote Originally Posted by Removed
    The reflection paths 'may' not be fully accurate.
    Quote Originally Posted by Removed
    The program does not include the map, you must get it from here (right-click, save link location as...):
    https://github.com/Coh3n/SPS/blob/9d...urface_map.png
    Now put this image in the same folder as the program.
    Quote Originally Posted by Removed
    Redraw:
    If you draw a path and then scroll until your path is off the screen, then scroll back you will not be able to see your path. Click redraw to show it again. Hopefully I'll find a solution for this, one that doesn't require 50% of my C2D .
    Last edited by Wolygon; 04-11-2012 at 03:51 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    10? north of Hell
    Posts
    1,982
    Mentioned
    41 Post(s)
    Quoted
    126 Post(s)

    Default

    Wouldn't this work?

    http://villavu.com/forum/showthread.php?t=33855

    I think marpis's plugin has a TileToPoint or whatever and if not it seems a little simple to make.

    Dg's Small Procedures | IRC Quotes
    Thank Wishlah for my nice new avatar!
    Quote Originally Posted by IRC
    [22:12:05] <Dgby714> Im agnostic
    [22:12:36] <Blumblebee> :O ...you can read minds

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Marquette, MI
    Posts
    14,996
    Mentioned
    84 Post(s)
    Quoted
    538 Post(s)

    Default

    Nice! I don't have time now, but I'll check it out later tonight.

    @Dgby: SPS.simba has a PixelToPoint and PointToPixel (should really be called TileToPoint/PointToTile); although, they're not 100% accurate.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    369
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    ------
    Strong Holder
    Kill Goblins and Zombies in (ex) bot free zones. Loot & Bank. Stable: 1.2b

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    111
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dgby714 View Post
    Wouldn't this work?

    http://villavu.com/forum/showthread.php?t=33855

    I think marpis's plugin has a TileToPoint or whatever and if not it seems a little simple to make.
    Maybe its just be but I haven't been able to find PathMaker for quite a while, I have used it before. It says that it is now included in "Reflection/Tools/PathMaker.exe". I'm assuming this is supposed to be in the Simba folder but there isn't anything in there. If it was I would of figured out how coords are coverted to tiles.

    I thought there might be one already but I did search for it. It was fun making it anyway and in my defense that application extracts to 100MB (why?) and consists of multiple files (mine is one .exe). I can't comment on the user interface as it would just flash a command box that I couldn't read and wouldn't open.

    *Realising its your application*: Do you output the SPS_Areas? If so, I'm impressed.

    I don't really care if no one finds this useful as it was a good experience.

    Nice! I don't have time now, but I'll check it out later tonight.
    Thanks for the positive comment, seems like they're pretty rare.

    I have included a picture of the UI below, note that the window can be re-sized which re-sizes the map area.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5,222
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    44 Post(s)

    Default

    Wanna add me on MSN? panic._@live.com.
    23:36 < godzilla> You are the ZIP ZOP BAPPITY ZOOPNEGROX DONGUS WARK ZIP ZOP BAPPITY ZOOPNEGROX DONG US WARK Z IP ZOP BAPPITY ZOOPNEGROX DONGUS WARK ZIP ZOP BAPPITY ZOOPNEGROX DONGUS WARK WARK
    WARK wark wark wark wark wark wark wark wark wark wark WARK WARK WARK WARK WARK WARK WARK WARK BARK WARK WARK WARK WARK WARK
    23:36 < godzilla> WARK WARK WARK WARK WARK WARK WARK WARK WARK WARK WARK.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Marquette, MI
    Posts
    14,996
    Mentioned
    84 Post(s)
    Quoted
    538 Post(s)

    Default

    I love the UI, nice and neat/organized, just the way I like it. I've wanted to make an application like this to further my programming experience, I just don't know what to make. I tested it out and it was working great until I got:
    Progress Report:
    [ERROR] GATHERMINIMAP:: Exception: Access violation
    That's an issue in SPS and we still don't know why that happens sometimes. I suggest having the option to click and drag the map to move it as well as scrolling. Also, maybe instead of having buttons for the locations (Varrock, etc.) maybe have a combo box so you aren't limited by space as to the number of locations. Other then that I think it's great.

    I also didn't test the reflection part (not sure if it's working yet?).

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    111
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Glad you like it .

    I've wanted to make an application like this to further my programming experience
    Yeah this project was great. I had never drew graphics and hadn't queried listviews before, so I learned a lot.

    I suggest having the option to click and drag the map to move it as well as scrolling. Also, maybe instead of having buttons for the locations (Varrock, etc.)
    Excellent suggestions, thanks. Combobox would be so much better then buttons .

    If you would have clicked reflection it would of said "Sorry, no reflection support yet". So no its not working yet as I'm unsure how to convert co-ords to tiles. I could just find some tiles on the map (rsbot) and find their co-ords by inspection however this might not be accurate enough and I don't want to stuff it up.

    [edit] I've found this code, which will hopefully work well:
    function SPS_PixelToPoint(pixel: tpoint): TPoint;
    begin
    Result.X := Round(2093.5 + (pixel.X / 4));
    Result.Y := Round(3776.0 - (pixel.Y / 4));
    end;
    [/edit]

    Also hopefully I will be able to add SPS_Areas support soon. Which I'm guessing would be pretty convenient (I haven't used SPS yet). I guess I should contact Marpis for info on the tiles.

    Wanna add me on MSN?
    Done.

    Thanks again.
    Last edited by Wolygon; 06-14-2011 at 10:47 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Marquette, MI
    Posts
    14,996
    Mentioned
    84 Post(s)
    Quoted
    538 Post(s)

    Default

    SPS_PixelToPoint works, but isn't 100% accurate. Maybe you'll be able to tweak it so it is? And yes, SPS_Area support would be VERY convenient. To get the area manually, you have to look through every 500x500 image and find the one you want. Doesn't usually take long, but is just inconvenient.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    369
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Shouldn't be 100MB. 10MB at the most, and 99% of that is the bitmap. The actual 'program' is only ~20kb.

    But yeah glad you had fun making it
    ------
    Strong Holder
    Kill Goblins and Zombies in (ex) bot free zones. Loot & Bank. Stable: 1.2b

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    111
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    v0.4 released

    Quote Originally Posted by Coh3n View Post
    SPS_PixelToPoint works, but isn't 100% accurate. Maybe you'll be able to tweak it so it is? And yes, SPS_Area support would be VERY convenient. To get the area manually, you have to look through every 500x500 image and find the one you want. Doesn't usually take long, but is just inconvenient.
    Ok thanks, I didn't know it was inaccurate. I've included it in v0.4 but it warns you, hopefully I can improve accuracy soon. Also I'll work on the SPS_Area support.

    Shouldn't be 100MB. 10MB at the most, and 99% of that is the bitmap. The actual 'program' is only ~20kb.
    Is my PC just retarded then? *See pic
    Attached Images Attached Images

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Marquette, MI
    Posts
    14,996
    Mentioned
    84 Post(s)
    Quoted
    538 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wolygon View Post
    Ok thanks, I didn't know it was inaccurate. I've included it in v0.4 but it warns you, hopefully I can improve accuracy soon. Also I'll work on the SPS_Area support.
    Great.

    And for your name change, I reported the post you made on the name change thread so and admin would see it faster. If you ever want the attention of a staff member, the fastest way is to report the post. Just a FYI.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    369
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Ah ok so somehow the bitmap is 100MB.
    Interesting. Ah well, it compresses pretty well =)
    ------
    Strong Holder
    Kill Goblins and Zombies in (ex) bot free zones. Loot & Bank. Stable: 1.2b

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    111
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    v0.5 released

    Added SPS_Areas support, it was much easier then I thought. It seems to work fine but there might be some bugs...

    And for your name change, I reported the post you made on the name change thread so and admin would see it faster. If you ever want the attention of a staff member, the fastest way is to report the post. Just a FYI.
    Haha, thanks for that.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Marquette, MI
    Posts
    14,996
    Mentioned
    84 Post(s)
    Quoted
    538 Post(s)

    Default

    Was just using to update the offsets for tile -> SPS conversions. For me, it got the wrong SPS Areas. Said they were 10_2 and 10_3 when they should be 9_2 and 9_3. Here's an image if you want.
    Last edited by Coh3n; 06-29-2011 at 06:29 AM.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    111
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Coh3n View Post
    Was just using to update the offsets for tile -> SPS conversions. For me, it got the wrong SPS Areas. Said they were 10_2 and 10_3 when they should be 9_2 and 9_3. Here's an image if you want.
    Hey, I've finally been able to check this out, as I've been busy.

    From your picture if you check it, all those points are in both the "9_2, 9_3" and the "10_2, 10_3" (since they overlap). Therefore it did not actually fail.

    Did "10_2, 10_3" not work for you though? This may be because the final bank point is right on the edge of 10_2. So if "10_2, 10_3" didn't work for you then I'll have to work that in to the program.

    Thanks for your feedback.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Marquette, MI
    Posts
    14,996
    Mentioned
    84 Post(s)
    Quoted
    538 Post(s)

    Default

    10_2 and 10_3 are in the wilderness for the latest SPS. Then again, so are 9_2 and 9_3. I think you'll just need to update the map. The latest images will always be available here.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    111
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Its all done. I also had to change the numbers for the reflection conversion.

    Thanks for the help.

    [EDIT]
    Just added panning support in v0.7 BTW, makes it nicer to use.
    Last edited by Wolygon; 10-20-2011 at 11:46 AM.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Marquette, MI
    Posts
    14,996
    Mentioned
    84 Post(s)
    Quoted
    538 Post(s)

    Default

    New version works great. Reflection is pretty accurate as well. One thing I suggest is having the real tile values show in the list when using it for Reflection. Right now it still shows the pixels and doesn't show the actual tile until you click generate. In other words, these two points should display as the same:


  21. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    1,356
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    72 Post(s)

    Default

    Great utility, horrible language

    Good job though

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    111
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    New version works great. Reflection is pretty accurate as well. One thing I suggest is having the real tile values show in the list when using it for Reflection. Right now it still shows the pixels and doesn't show the actual tile until you click generate. In other words, these two points should display as the same:
    Thanks for testing it. And also thanks for the suggestion, I've done it and its in v0.8. The code is getting really messy, so I'll have to rewrite it some time.

    Great utility, horrible language

    Good job though
    I know, it is quite lame but I'm too lame to know anything else . Thanks for the comment

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Marquette, MI
    Posts
    14,996
    Mentioned
    84 Post(s)
    Quoted
    538 Post(s)

    Default

    Meh I don't think the language matters much. If the program works well and does what it's supposed to, it's a good program in my books.

    E: Wolygon, would it be okay if I wanted to include this application with the SPS repository on my github account? I would include it when it's finished, of course, and give you proper credits. This would allow everyone who has SPS to easily access your application.

    Also, we'll have to wait and see, but if Jagex really does break Reflection on Tuesday you may has well disable the Reflecation part of the app.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    111
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Hey, yeah I'd love for it to be uploaded there. What do you mean by "when it's finished"? What do you think should be added? I don't see too many crucial improvements that I can make.

    Also I was wondering, do the SPS maps change periodically, or was it a one off? If they change often then I could try make it so that you can change the image... My biggest worry is about the reflection conversions, as I'm unsure if I'd be able to regenerate them automatically when the map changes (but as you say Reflection 'may' not be a problem).

    Ha I didn't even know about the reflection thing with Jagex, we'll see then.

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Marquette, MI
    Posts
    14,996
    Mentioned
    84 Post(s)
    Quoted
    538 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wolygon View Post
    Hey, yeah I'd love for it to be uploaded there. What do you mean by "when it's finished"? What do you think should be added? I don't see too many crucial improvements that I can make.
    I just meant when it's very stable and you've done pretty much all you can do with it.

    Quote Originally Posted by Wolygon View Post
    Also I was wondering, do the SPS maps change periodically, or was it a one off? If they change often then I could try make it so that you can change the image... My biggest worry is about the reflection conversions, as I'm unsure if I'd be able to regenerate them automatically when the map changes (but as you say Reflection 'may' not be a problem).
    The maps don't change often, no, but it may not be a bad idea to have the option to load other maps. For example, SPS also has a rune essence map which people would want to use. I also plan on adding more maps such as runecrafting alters and dungeons in the future.

    You should just be able to have a menu like File > Load Image or something. Could also just have it load the entire map by default. Or maybe just a "Change Map" button then have the user choose whatever image to load.

    For the conversions, I suggest adding two edit boxes: one for the x offset and one for the y offset. After all, it's just an x/y value used to convert points. The offsets (as used in SPS methods) are specified by each "surface" in sps.simba. This way, the user can set the offsets depending on which map their using whether it be the default RS surface, or essence mine. That being said, I wouldn't worry about the Reflection side of it until after Tuesday's update.

    Loading any image is what's needed. If you let the user choose the image that would mean the map being used in your application is always updated (i.e. you don't have to update the app every time a map is updated).

    Hopefully all that crap made sense.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •