PDA

View Full Version : Building a laptop

rj
08-31-2013, 09:58 PM
When I graduate highschool in May my parents will give me a laptop for college. I want to build my own laptop to be better then these specs:

http://i.imgur.com/ns4vRAu.png

I'm perfectly happy with these specs lol but I think I could build better.

How much better could it get for what price? I'm a total noob at processors and computers parts so gonna need some help here.

YoHoJo
08-31-2013, 10:03 PM
You can't build a laptop, only PCs.
They don't sell parts to build a laptop, you can really only upgrade the RAM and HDD (maybe something else) of a laptop but not much more.

I guess you main you're looking to customize/pick a laptop.

A good place to start is budget, tell us your budget and we will try and find the best bang for your buck.

Edit:
Those specs are really nice as in, I wouldn't spend money on anything better it seems like it should be able to handle almost anything just fine :/.

rj
08-31-2013, 10:41 PM
You can't build a laptop, only PCs.
They don't sell parts to build a laptop, you can really only upgrade the RAM and HDD (maybe something else) of a laptop but not much more.

I guess you main you're looking to customize/pick a laptop.

A good place to start is budget, tell us your budget and we will try and find the best bang for your buck.

Edit:
Those specs are really nice as in, I wouldn't spend money on anything better it seems like it should be able to handle almost anything just fine :/.

Aww ok yea specs are fine but building a laptop would have been cool

Daniel
09-01-2013, 10:35 AM
You should look into the Clevo range of laptops. In the US, an OEM is Sager, and www.XoticPC.com is apparently a very reputable reseller of their range.

Cheap, and built to your specifications.