PDA

View Full Version : Graphing Calculator

Keen
05-23-2006, 01:55 PM
Ok, well I’m sitting my maths exam in less than 2 weeks and I’m probably going to fail, even though I’m studying like hell.

While innocently searching Google (not for cheating purposes :p) I came across graphing calculators.
Has anyone got one? I’m thinking about buying one to help me.

If someone here had one could you please answer some questions for me please.

Are they difficult to use?
Can you write text to its memory?
Do they give you the working of calculations it has worked out?

If anyone can answer these it would save my ass because if I don’t pass then... well... you probably won't see me in about 4 - 6 months, if you know what I mean.

Thanks. :rolleyes:

Soo Hoo
05-23-2006, 04:01 PM
I know how you feel :p . My parents personally took away my internet connection :eek: . I know how to put it back up temporarily, but if they catch me at it, I'm doubly screwed.

To the point... It depends on what kind of graphing calculator you have.
For Ti-83+ (which is the most common- same as Ti84 series and Ti86 series) which is like $50.
-Are they difficult to use? No. Very easy to use.
-Can you write text to its memory? Yes, you can write a program in it that shows a specified text at command. Or you can just type it in :D .
-Do they give you the working of calculations it has worked out? Definitely not. This calculator doesn't even have useful fuctions like the Ti-89 explained below.

For the Ti-89 series (which I happen to have) which is $100 for a regular, and about $150 for the titanium
Edit: the Ti-89 Titanium is the same as the regular Ti-89 except that the titanium has more memory.