PDA

View Full Version : Loops

Pancakes
07-03-2007, 08:53 AM
How To Design And Use Loops - By Pancakes

Hello all, and welcome to my first tutorial for SCAR :) Be forewarned, I'm not that good at explaining things, but I'll do my best here.

Ah loops. They're the magic that make scripts work. Without them, most scripts wouldn't be here today. They're a very important part of coding in all programming languages. First off lets take a look at a sample piece of code:
program AutoTalker;
begin
Writeln('Hello everybody!');
end.

Now what does that do? All it does, is send a message to the debug window, saying 'Hello everybody!' (without the quotation marks). Not very useful at all.

But what if you wanted to make it say 'Hello everybody!' more than once?
program AutoTalker;
begin
end.

Now that looks a little bit... pointless, doesn't it? All you are saying is say 'Hello everybody!' over and over again. Of course, you may actually want to do this. I'll introduce you the the first loop I'm going to teach you...

The 'For' Loop!

This is how it is coded in Scar.

var i : Integer;
begin
for i := 1 to 5 do
begin
end;
end;

Lets take this one line at a time.

All we are doing here is declaring 'i' as a variable. 'i' is the most commonly used variable in coding. You can use anything in the place of 'i', but you have to remember to declare it before you start the loop.