PDA

View Full Version : Need help uploading an applet to freewebs site



JAD
02-18-2008, 12:34 AM
OK, well here's the deal.

I have a java applet (game i made) that I want to upload to a freewebs site. Normally, to run the applet from a file on my computer, the code would look something like this:



<html>
<head>
<title>MyFightingGame Applet</title>
</head>
<body bgcolor="black">
<hr><center>
<applet code="MyFightingGame.class"
width=800
height=550
codebase="."
archive="file:/C:/BlueJ/lib/bluejcore.jar,file:/C:/BlueJ/lib/junit.jar,file:/C:/Jake/Java%20Programs/FightingGame/"
alt="Your browser understands the &lt;APPLET&gt; tag but isn't running the applet, for some reason."
>

Your browser is ignoring the &lt;APPLET&gt; tag!
</applet>
<hr></center>
</body>
</html>


and that would work fine. But now I want to open it from the web. I uploaded the "FightingGame" folder and all of its contents onto my site, and now I want to display it. The problem is (obviously), the directory changed and I don't know what to make the directory to now to load the applet. It's called the exact same folder and the folder is right there with my index.htm file.

Thanks.

~JAD

Harry
02-18-2008, 12:37 AM
I think what you are asking is what is the URL of your applet on the freewebs site, right?

If you know the link, I think you change "MyFightingGame.class" to "*Link of game*/MyFightingGame.class"

If you don't know the link for some reason, you could host it somewhere else.

Hope I helped.

Da 0wner
02-18-2008, 01:35 AM
Freewebs links are usually like this. http://www.freewebs.com/username/file So it would be http://www.freewebs.com/JAD/myfightinggame.class. Thanks,

~Kyle~

JAD
02-19-2008, 01:52 AM
Freewebs links are usually like this. http://www.freewebs.com/username/file So it would be http://www.freewebs.com/JAD/myfightinggame.class. Thanks,

~Kyle~

i think that's close to what i need help with. Here's some SS's. I want to load the applet on the home page (freewebs.com/jadquest):

So I just want to upload the applet, and I'm really confused. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks.

Da 0wner
02-19-2008, 04:44 AM
Oh, the homepage. I don't know how do do that. You could just make it redirect you to the page that has the game on it. Thanks,

~Kyle~

P.s. Can i be on ur buddie list :P

JAD
02-19-2008, 04:51 AM
Oh, the homepage. I don't know how do do that. You could just make it redirect you to the page that has the game on it. Thanks,

~Kyle~

P.s. Can i be on ur buddie list :P

idc about opening it from the homepage, although that would be ideal, that's not the main problem :p

I can't figure out what the url to start the game would be.... Because I tried like freewebs.com/jadquest/jadscape/jadquest.class and that doesn't work... That just tries to download the file. Any ideas on how to "run" the file?


And yes, you can :p


EDIT: I also tried http://freewebs.com/jadquest/jadscape/jadquest.html and that just popped up with the applet but it says loading applet failed. But when I double click that html file on my computer to run the applet (not off the web, from the file on my computer) it works perfectly fine. I don't get it... :confused: :(

Da 0wner
02-19-2008, 06:07 AM
Hehe I died against the green guy :(. That works for me....It shows some game with a guy with a sword and a green head. lol Thanks,

~Kyle~

P.s Add me on MSN ;) kylewollaston@hotmail.com

Also add scarface704@msn.com my other email dosent work =/

Dumpin
02-20-2008, 06:55 AM
I could give you some free webspace... ( jAD.gamefire.nl or gamefire.nl/Jad )

:)

Rikje
02-20-2008, 07:09 AM
http://freewebs.com/jadquest/jadscape/jadquest.html and that just popped up with the applet but it says loading applet failed. But when I double click that html file on my computer to run the applet (not off the web, from the file on my computer) it works perfectly fine. I don't get it... :confused: :(

That link does work :)

http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/7783/jadqeustbp0.jpg