PDA

View Full Version : Make a shutdown timer for your comp.



sweetleaf
05-23-2008, 09:39 PM
i posted this earlier in another thread and decided to post it here in tut island too : )


if you guys just want to run a certain amount of definite hours till your computer shuts down then..

1. open notepad
2. copy paste this in

shutdown -s -t 14400 -c "computer shutdown"

3. after the t is the amount of seconds the computer will stay on. right now its set for 4 hours. 4*60*60=14400.

4. then save the file as shutdowncomp.bat

5. then just click on the file and a timer will begin. and there you go.

6. to change the time after you already saved it just right click on the shutdowncomp icon and click on edit and just change the amount of seconds. REMEMBER ITS ALWAYS TIME IN SECONDS!

7. oh and if you change your mind and want to get rid of the timer just do this.

go to START > run> then type in shutdown -a and the timer will disappear.

yup : )

smithsps
05-25-2008, 05:17 AM
1. Fix all grammar mistakes.

2. Get some pictures...

If(AboveIsCompleted = True)then
writeln('Good job you actually did something right (NO OFFENCE)');

Woot First post

itSchRis917
05-25-2008, 05:41 AM
He doesnt need any pictures.. This is so INSANELY simple that if you need pictures for this you were dropped on your head QUITE A FEW times as a kid..

smithsps
05-25-2008, 04:06 PM
1. Pictures make it look 300% more professional...

2. If he's not going to get some pictures then just fix the grammar mistakes...

[Off-Topic]
http://images.wikia.com/uncyclopedia/images/0/03/Soviet_party.png
In Soviet Russia, party finds YOU!!!
[/Off-Topic]

EvilChicken!
05-25-2008, 04:33 PM
I'm posting my ShutDown procedure, if anyone wants to look at it..

{************************************************* ******************************
procedure Terminate;
By: EvilChicken!
Description: Terminates the script and shuts down the computer.
************************************************** *****************************}
procedure Terminate;
begin
WriteLn('Shutting down your PC, to stop it go to:');
WriteLn('Start -> Run -> type in ''shutdown -a''');
PlaySound('C:\WINDOWS\Media\Windows XP Shutdown.wav');
Wait(1000);
// ResetDc; [if using S.M.A.R.T. Works!]
Wait(1000);
KeyDown(92);
Wait(200);
KeyDown(82);
Wait(200);
KeyUp(82);
Wait(200);
KeyUp(92);
Wait(2000);
SendKeys('%windir%\System32\shutdown.exe -s -f -t 00');
Wait(1000);
KeyDown(13);
Wait(200);
KeyUp(13);
end;


:)

sweetleaf
05-26-2008, 02:53 AM
haha omg grammar? i'll fix it later. And ya, its pretty self explanatory, but if you must, i'll include some pictures also. and I'll work on my grammar... lol

atomnooblet
08-25-2008, 02:11 PM
When shutting down with cmd, I think that the computer restricts my time within a particular limit, way lower than that specified by you.

Is there any way to fix it?

Help appreciated :)

wromg
10-12-2008, 02:16 PM
You can also do shutdown -i to shut other computers :P

Wrycu
10-12-2008, 02:26 PM
Windows XP allows up to two characters of seconds for the shutdown command.


Also, on XP, the flag is -m to shutdown remote computers.

Example:


shutdown -s -f -m \\computername -t 00