PDA

View Full Version : Dev C++ and troubles?

insanomano
05-28-2008, 01:46 AM
ok I am using Dev C++ I am just getting into C++ and im wondering if this is any good?????

and second I am running through a great TUT but whenever I run the code that I make it quickly flashes the command promp. and my code is saved compiled and made into executable format. it just always flashes the cmd and closes. I was wondering WHY????? :mad:

EDIT: YAY!!!!! thanks to wizzup? from another post I found out what the problem was. im gonna post what to do and keep this for other noobs to read!!!!!!

after your cout just insert

int f;
cin >> f; //This makes it so that when you type any key and press enter it closes!

:D Hope this helps anybody else that encounters this error.

boberman
05-28-2008, 01:58 PM
For any that are interested, what is happening is the system opens a console window, preforms the output, then closes the console one the output is done. By putting the input there you stop the console window from closing instantly.

Often, a better solution is to use system("PAUSE"); (I believe it is in the stdlib.h header) rather then cin >> some variable. There are some reasons for this. One is that cin doesn't provide buffer overflow protection. Many a malicious bug plays on this fact. While at the end of a short program might not be a big deal, it is a bad practice that you don't want to be in the habit of doing (if you want to pause your script that is)

Seroko
10-11-2008, 03:59 AM
For any that are interested, what is happening is the system opens a console window, preforms the output, then closes the console one the output is done. By putting the input there you stop the console window from closing instantly.