PDA

View Full Version : Transcoding, DVD ripping FTW (in Linux)

boberman
06-28-2008, 06:10 AM
I don't know if I am a great tutorial writer but I'll give it a shot.

Have you ever wanted to store your dvds on your hard-drive but are too afraid of the space requirement? Do you want to avoid scratching your DVDs? Does the DMCA not apply to you? are you using linux? Then this guide is for you!

First off, a small disclaimer, in some countries it is considered illegal to break the DVD encryption. I am not encouraging you to break the law in any way, only to be able to back up your dvds in some meaningful format.

As you are reading this, I am assuming that you have a fairly good knowledge of linux and can install programs on it. I will try to keep all software in the GPL zone, but will give suggestions when I feel that the closed source stuff works better.

What you'll need for this tuturial.

Mplayer, Nero AAC encoder, x264, vobcopy, decss2 (might be call libdecss), libmad, and mkvtoolnix (preferably with the gui version) <- you should be able to get all of these for free without little hassle.

Where I use windows software is with wine and dvd-decrypter. I love dvd-decrypter and think it is the best ripping tool out there.

I once you get all that installed (no, Im not showing you how, that would be far more work then I want to commit to at this time) its time to enter the world of the console. Ill try and explain all the commands as we go along.

The first step is to get the raw data, you should have about 8 GB of free space available, at least. you do that with this command

vobcopy -t <whatever your movie is call> -l
Simple, right? Well, not exactly. This will take the longest video section and put it into one vob file. Thats great and all, but sometimes you don't want to see FBI warnings ect. to do that you will have to find the actual movie track (guess and check is your best method) and use the "-n" command to extract it.