PDA

View Full Version : Ways to avoid the BANHAMMER!

jose89
08-10-2008, 02:17 AM
A quote from big bro from RSBOT. Very helpful information.

[quote from big bro]
I didn't get an answer in Introductions about where to post this, so it's going here in General. If it belongs somewhere else, please move it.

I used to use bots a lot on Runescape, and I got banned a lot for it. Over time, I made a friend who worked for Jagex and who told me (after he stopped working for Jagex) some of the things they do to detect bans. I tested some of it myself, have listened to feedback from others who did or didn't get banned, and managed to figure out a lot of things.

Now I'm not a programmer, and all the tech speak goes over my head. But I do know a good bit about how Jagex goes about banning people. I'm posting it here because RSBot is the best bot out there, commercial or free. I know that the other bots will copy it if it works, but you can say that you did it first. ;D

Here's what I know (or think I know):

*** Jagex will rarely ban an established members account in good standing for macroing a skill or combat level, except for time-abuse or if they're doing something else (like Real World Trading). Let me explain what that means:

1) The account isn't F2P. Member accounts get much more leeway than F2P do.

2) The account is at least two payments old....in other words, the account has been charged twice. The reason is that most credit card chargebacks happen in the first month.

3) The account never goes inactive. If you let membership lapse for 15 days or so, don't be surprised if you get a ban for whatever you did that can result in a ban.

4) The account is in good standing: it has never had a deficit (chargeback), a credit card or PIN used has never been refused or charged back, etc.