PDA

View Full Version : All-Proof - Walking Through Variables

Daniel
09-17-2008, 07:39 AM
The SCAR
Walking Through Variables

Guide written by Dan's The Man. Supposed to be absolute noob-proof.

If you enjoy this tutorial, please add points to my reputation to show your appreciation ;)

For a much more thorough understanding of types and variables, please refer to this tutorial (http://www.villavu.com/forum/showthread.php?p=601951#post601951) ;)

Introduction:
This chapter takes you through the use and wonders of variables. "The Scar", walks you through what to use variables for and when. This information is vital for all scripters. If you don't know then you should read on as this is one of the steps on your way to becoming a more advanced scripter into the customized pascal language, SCAR.

Requirements:
None

Contents:
What are Variables
When to use Variables
Common Variable types.
Setting up Variables.
Difference between Constants.
Converting one type to another.
Use of correct formatting.
Receiving Errors and Fixing them.

1 - What are variables:
Variables are a way of defining things in SCAR. Every script should contain at least one variable, no matter what type it is. It can change as many times you want it to and it can be called as a replacement. They're the most used item out of an entire script, especially a script that is for Runescape or any other massive online role playing game.

There are two locations a variable can be put, and they have their own special names too, a local variable and a global variable. A local variable is a variable that can only be used in a procedure or a function, such as brackets. A global variable, on the other hand, can be used throughout the entire script, it can be used inside functions and procedures and then in another one which is declared later on.

2 - When to use variables: