PDA

View Full Version : Creating a Game

D1zl3
11-18-2008, 12:28 AM
Sorry if this is in the wrong section, but I was wondering what to use when making a game like Runescape. Also is it hard to make? I heard that it is sort of like pascal. Would I use java or C++, and also, what programs do i use, thanks for the help, sorry Im a noob :P .

Tniffoc
11-18-2008, 03:58 AM
That would be like scary impossible but if you want to, go ahead and learn C/C++/Java/Visual BASIC/Visual C++.

D1zl3
11-18-2008, 04:00 AM
That would be like scary impossible but if you want to, go ahead and learn C/C++/Java/Visual BASIC/Visual C++.

So it would take alot of practice? :P
damn I was hoping it would be alot easier than that, thanks for the feedback!

boberman
11-18-2008, 05:03 AM
Game programming is some of the most difficult programming out there. If you are interested, Then I would pick either C++, C#, or Java to program it in, as they have the most tools and resources available for that area. C++ for the absolute fastest, and Java/C# for decent speed, but easier programming. C# will probably be the easiest to program a game in if I where to wager.

senrath
11-18-2008, 05:10 AM
If I were you, I'd pick C# to start with. It's relatively simple to learn, and you can base any game you make on the XNA framework.

I've never actually used C# or XNA myself, but all but one game project in the game design club I'm in is using XNA.

D1zl3
11-18-2008, 05:16 AM
Ok so I should use c#. But what programs would I use?

Capricorn
11-18-2008, 10:16 AM
Since its C# I think that basically forces you to use Microsoft's Visual Studio. Do you plan on making a game from scratch? I.E making a engines for your game to run off of and going from there? If so looking at some open source game engines and graphic engines would not hurt.