PDA

View Full Version : Problem with Building :'/

marpis
11-30-2008, 09:26 PM
I just started learning Visualbasic, and im using the VB2008.
I created a program that calculates the length of the hypotenuse of a right triangle.

I wanted to make it work as an independent program, so i clicked Build -> Build Hypotenuusa_Valmis

It exported 5 files:
Hypotenuusa_valmis : Application manifest
Hypotenuusa_valmis : Application
Hypotenuusa_valmis.exe.manifest : MANIFEST-file (???)
Hypotenuusa_valmis.pdb : PDB-file (???)
Hypotenuusa_valmis.XML : XML-file (???)

When i run the Hypotenuusa_valmis exeuctable, it works correctly. I tried if these work on my girlfriends computer too, so i sent all these to her packed as .zip. She extracted the files and ran the executable, but there came up some error. I removed the Application Manifest file and tried running the executable, and it worked. I sent these 3 files to her but didn't work. I removed 3 more files (all others but the executable) and it still worked with me perfectly. I sent the executable to her, but nahh didn't work.

How hard it is to make this program work with other computers?
I haven't found any tutorial, don't tell me to google.

NiiX
03-31-2009, 02:42 PM
I would say it has to do with some .dll wich you have on your pc, but your gf's pc dosent, make sure to check what Components have you used and wich ones, make sure to copy that specific .dll(s) to your .exe's directory and then try to run it on your gf's pc, this should work now.

Post source?

mc_teo
04-05-2009, 12:35 AM
vb2008 can be a pain...
thats the main reason i started using vb6...
a nice clean execuable...

when your building your files go to the project configeration, and publish to the desktop...
all files are needed...

hope this helps

XabdullahX
04-20-2009, 05:02 AM
Just install .Net Framework 2.0 on your gfs computer and it should work.
just google it

tank phobia
04-21-2009, 05:30 AM
vb2008 can be a pain...