PDA

View Full Version : Installing XAMPP on Ubuntu

Daniel
04-27-2009, 12:26 PM
Installing XAMPP on Ubuntu
By Dan's The Man

Introduction:
I made this tutorial as i thought that some people may run into difficulty whilst installing XAMPP. I have not copied this from any other tutorial on the internet, it is from my own knowledge. I did not Google any help for this (apart from 3rd sub-step in step 4) and decided to troubleshoot the problem myself, and with some basic commands i know (thanks Wizzup? ;)) i did it in under 2 minutes :) As i'm a complete newbie at Ubuntu, so far.

Requirements:
Administrator (root) privileges
Ubuntu

The Tutorial:

Replace any text in orange with the path you downloaded XAMPP to and any text in blue with the version you have downloaded (e.g 1.7.1 or 1.6.8) and any text in green with your username.

Step 1 -
-- Download and install XAMPP for Linux here (http://www.apachefriends.org/en/xampp-linux.html). NOTE: Follow the download instructions ONLY. Make sure you remember the download location (it helps if it's saved in the /home/dan/)

Step 2 -
-- Go to Applications> Accessories> Terminal, to open up a Terminal prompt.

Step 3 -
-- Type in the following, NOTE: Make sure you have kept the downloaded file name in-tact!. Enter any extra if the terminal prompts it (such as Root password):

"sudo tar xvfz /home/dan/xampp-linux-1.7.1.tar.gz -C /home/dan/"
l
Step 4 -
-- A list of file names and directories will come up, wait for it to finish.
-- After the list completes, type:
"sudo /home/dan/lampp/lampp start"
-- Now type:
"sudo chown -R $USER:$USER /home/dan/lampp"
-- XAMPP is now installed!
-- XAMPP should now be started! Follow the next steps if you want it to launch automatically upon logging in. Skip to Step 7 otherwise.

Step 5 (Optional) -
-- Go to: System> Preferences> Startup Applications

Step 6 (Optional) -
-- Press the ADD button.
-- For "Name" enter LAMPP.
-- For "Command" enter sudo /home/dan/lampp/lampp start