PDA

View Full Version : Can I learn this C++ ?

Ejjman
10-08-2009, 07:58 AM
http://img34.imageshack.us/img34/4387/88436586.png

I am curious because there's this competition that I want to enter into. Is it very hard to learn how to do the 'Competencies'? This is all the info I have on it, and on a scale of one to ten, or maybe how much time I would have to devote, how hard is it to learn all of those things? I've wanted to learn C++ for quite some time, but I have never actually sat down to do it.

I have very little knowledge of C++ and its Syntax, but I definitely want to learn it.

Thanks for any advice!

EDIT: If this looks extremely easy, I would not be surprised. There are many competitions that are easy, such as the basic XHTML. I'm just not sure.

3Garrett3
10-08-2009, 08:33 AM
It looks like all it wants you to do is create a program that can do calculations and stuff. Kinda like a spreadsheet? I have no knowledge of c++ but it seems pretty easy.

Wizzup?
10-08-2009, 08:41 AM
I'd say no. If you don't know C++ yet, then don't even try.
They also say you should have C++ experience, and be able to design (complex) algorithms in C++. So unless you start working real hard this week, I wouldn't suggest doing it. :)

3Garrett3
10-08-2009, 08:46 AM
I was unaware of a time period XD

I figured a month or so would be what it would take to have a "win the competition" worthy thing. Depending on how fast you learn and your background knowledge.

Ejjman
10-08-2009, 11:30 AM
Sorry Wizzy, it's around 4 months away :)

Baked0420
10-08-2009, 11:46 AM
if you have 4 months, then what are you doing posting? start reading some tuts, I don't really know you but I have faith in you :) that's plenty of time I would think.

and I'm learning C++ in school, it's pretty easy, but the case-sensitiveness is annoying when you're used to pascal. :p

boberman
10-08-2009, 10:55 PM