PDA

View Full Version : Quick Physics Question

Heavenguard
10-24-2010, 07:49 PM
Can a centripetal force be negative? I'm studying Uniform Circular Motion in my Physics AP Class, but I can't really remember much about it xD, but I just need to know if this can be negative.

∑F = FC
Ft + Fw = FC
Ft + mg = m(v₂/r)
Ft = m(v₂/r) – mg

Bot
∑F = FC
Ft – Fw = FC
Ft – mg = m(v₂/r)
Ft = m(v₂/r) + mg

At the top, does FC become negative? I know its center-seeking and all so im not too sure. There both the same objects with the same mass going through the same acceleration, velocity and period.

i luffs yeww
10-24-2010, 08:00 PM
Never taken a physics class, love, but I don't think it could be negative? How would force be negative?

http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20081018054435AAX7V0s

Heavenguard
10-24-2010, 08:07 PM
A force can be negative if its compared to other forces. That's where im trying to ask about, kinda confused if that would apply to the FC, because its never shown on a free body diagram but is said to be center-seeking.

TomTuff
10-24-2010, 08:10 PM
a negative centripetal force would go away from the center of gravity right?

i luffs yeww
10-24-2010, 08:11 PM
Fair enough. :) Get on MSN. ^^

Also, my sig. :3 check it out if you have teh tiem. <3

Heavenguard
10-24-2010, 08:14 PM
A negative centripetal force would yeah, it would go away I guess... but if you think about it, their both going in the same direction in the case. Since gravity goes downward from the object, and at the top of this objects motion; the FC would go downwards as well...

O (object)
|
\/FT & FW (& FC)

TomTuff
10-24-2010, 08:22 PM
A negative centripetal force would yeah, it would go away I guess... but if you think about it, their both going in the same direction in the case. Since gravity goes downward from the object, and at the top of this objects motion; the FC would go downwards as well...