PDA

View Full Version : How do I get Simba under Ubuntu ?

Cigue
12-27-2010, 03:14 PM
Is it even possible at all? I've tried walking through the instructions in the wiki but I honestly couldn't figure anything out. I'm a total linux newbie :/

From what I've gathered, the steps are
1. Download and install a particular version of Free Pascal Compiler
--There are about sixty files of 3-5 different extensions under Linux/i386, which one do I need?
2. Download and install a particular version of Lazarus (Bonus : current version doesn't work)
--Where do I get this fabled version of Lazarus and how do I build/install it?
3. Get source of Simba and build it using FPC and Lazarus
--Wha?

Will it even work :confused:

i luffs yeww
12-27-2010, 03:21 PM
1. http://wizzup.org/simba/article/2
2. Use Wine
3. ???
4. PROFIT!!!

BraK
12-27-2010, 05:42 PM
Check Coh3n's Guide for it here (http://villavu.com/forum/showthread.php?t=47714).

~BraK

bugger0001
01-05-2011, 10:01 PM
Umm...I sort of ran into same issue. I find it a bit weird to use wine for Simba as it runs natively too, but I guess wine is the only option to get EVERYTHING(read: extensions) to work fine under ubuntu, isn't it?

PS. If someone knows more about the issue of srl.sex not working natively on anything other than windows then I would really appreciate a basic explanation of the problem and some possible solutions to it. Thanks in advance

i luffs yeww
01-05-2011, 11:25 PM
The reason that Simba doesn't work well on Ubuntu (or any GNU/Linux distro, afaik) is because of the PascalScript interpreter not being cross-platform.

lib/pyMML/SPyRL will fix that, though.

Zyt3x
01-05-2011, 11:28 PM
lib/pyMML/SPyRL will fix that, though.Looking forward to this! :)

**BANNED The Man
01-05-2011, 11:32 PM
The reason that Simba doesn't work well on Ubuntu (or any GNU/Linux distro, afaik) is because of the PascalScript interpreter not being cross-platform.

lib/pyMML/SPyRL will fix that, though.