PDA

View Full Version : Dilemma

PotentPK
09-25-2011, 03:01 AM
Ok. So here is my dilemma. I am applying to college very soon. I have to figure out my major. It's between Computer Science and Computer Engineering. I really need to figure it out soon because I am wishing to get into a technical based college which has a very strict set of classes in order to get the degree.

My understanding on what Computer Science and Computer Engineering are:

Computer Science: Much to do with programming and computer stuff.

Computer Engineering: More to do with the actual hardware of the computer and I need to learn somewhat about electrical engineering.

I have no experience in either. I have never programmed and haven't taken any classes on electricity. I feel as if Computer Science is a more well known degree, but on the other hand people with Computer Engineering degrees seem to get paid significantly more and Computer Engineering also touches on programming. I feel as if with Computer Engineering I might be able to teach myself extra programming on the side if I must.

Not sure if anyone was in a situation like this but I really need some advice here. Would appreciate anything, thanks.

I've also taken plenty of classes IT related but I don't really want to go into IT.

NCDS
09-25-2011, 03:27 AM
My advice would be to pick the major most directed at the career you're seeking. There are plenty of online tutorials and such to learn the other stuff. Numerous people here are very skilled programmers in multiple languages without attending any classes prior, just as an example.

You're going to have to start with general education classes anyways, so I'm sure you could always change your major as you learn more about the classes and each subject.

PotentPK
09-25-2011, 03:36 AM