PDA

View Full Version : HSL tutorial

Lorax
03-08-2007, 06:35 PM
Hi I'm Lorax, as any of you with more scripting knowledge knows, I'm a big fan of HSL (Hue, saturation, luminance).. I use it mainly for finding middle of objects as to use HSL is a great way for finding objects..
I have been asked to make this tutorial several times, and I know I'm not good at writing tutorials, but I will try anyway..

Introduction to HSL:
HSL is a way of defining colours. Just like RGB, Hex and the colours you use in SCAR (Color32)..
In RGB every colour has a Red value, a Green value and a Blue value.. And with a mix of those 3 values you can create any colour.. as some of you know RGB values range from 0-225..

HSL<>RGB:
RGB uses Integer values (jf. 0-225), but HSL uses floating points and ranges from (0.0-100.0)
When you set Red to 255, Green to 0 and Blue to 0 in RGB you will get the colour 0..
In HSL, it's the variable Hue which determines what colour you are having..

Examples using a color converter:
R 255, G 0, B 0 --> H 0.0, S 50.0, L 100.0
R 0, G 255, B 0 --> H 33.33, S 50.0, L100.0

What colour lies where is rather irelevant, but I can tell you that HSL is made like a circle and therefor Hue 100.0 and 0.0 is allmost the same color..

So Hue is the colour, what are the remaining two variables then?
Let's start of by talking about Luminance..
Luminance is (what the word suggests) lightness of the color..
If you set the Luminance to 100.0 you would get white and if you set it to 0.0 you would get black.. all Luminance values in between is simply a color with a lightness grade between black and white..

Saturation?
Saturation is what I prefer to call as "Grayness".. it simply shows how gray our color is..
if you set Saturation to 0.0 you would get the color gray no matter the Hue parameter.. if you set Saturation to 100.0 you would get a clean color, like 255, 0, 0..

So great, now I know what HSL is that's fine - but what do I use it for?
Don't make such stupid questions :)