PDA

View Full Version : RatKiller: A Making of

ReadySteadyGo
01-31-2012, 07:00 AM
RatKiller: A Making of

Over the years that I have been a part of this community, I have learned a great deal from the tutorial section. In fact, I owe this community a lot. I recently made the decision to quit my degree that I have been studying for 2 years and reapply for Computer Science. This community gave me the chance to hone my skills, and gave me confidence that I am suitable for such a course.

I am going to be making a tutorial as a proof of concept of my recently released MMToMS, to show it’s usefulness, but hopefully showing you a few hints and tips along the way.

This was originally intended to be a step by step tutorial, but I got carried away with the script. I personally feel it’s the details which make a script, so I’d like to explain my way of thinking in this ‘Making of’.

I’ve purposely decided to leave things that are generic out in order to focus on the more exciting parts.

OK, let’s jump in.

type
MSObject = record
Col, Tol, TPADist, MinCount: Integer;
Hue, Sat: Extended;
Uptext: TStringArray;
MMDot: String;
end;

var
Rat, Bones: MSObject;
BonesDTM: Integer;

I like to define my variables before anything else. It sets the tone for the rest of the code, means less rewriting later, and it also helps to avoid repeating yourself.

As I had decided that I was going to make a Rat Fighting script that picks up and buries bones, a suitable way to define this data was immediately clear. All the script needs is two Main Screen objects, I knew I was going to use a typical TPA Objectfinding method with some added features. So I created a ‘MSObject’ record with common variables between the two objects and defined global variables ‘Rat’ and ‘Bones’ to have this Type.

I also needed a way to find Bones once they were in the inventory in order to bury them. I chose to use a DTM, since there was only one, but in a larger script would probably look into BlackLists.