Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Smart crashing when opening in wine on an ubuntu vps

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)

    Default Smart crashing when opening in wine on an ubuntu vps

    Hi!

    So I am trying to run this
    Code:
    program new;
    {$define smart}
    {$i SRL-6/SRL.simba}
    
    begin
    setupSrl();
    end.
    little script to test if I can run osrs bots and it loads the console in wine and then for 1 sec the smart client pops up and then it crashes and I get this error in terminal:

    Code:
    X Error of failed request:  BadValue (integer parameter out of range for operation)
      Major opcode of failed request:  151 (XFree86-VidModeExtension)
      Minor opcode of failed request:  15 (XF86VidModeSetGamma)
      Value in failed request:  0x3e00094
      Serial number of failed request:  539
      Current serial number in output stream:  549
    SMART: Call appears to have failed, or client successfully killed.
    formWriteln: -------- Succesfully spawned a client, attempting to target
    Plugin libsmartremote32 already loaded: 0
    Plugin libsmartremote32 already loaded: 0
    SMART: EIOS Requesting Target
    SMART: Client possibly paired to us
    SMART: Already paired: Incrementing refcount
    SMART: Target Identifier: 0x2462f8
    SMART: EIOS requested image buffer
    SMART: Base: 0x4760000 Off: 4124
    formWriteln: ---------- smartSetAsTarget(): Succesfully set SMART[64] as Simba's target
    formWriteln: ------ smartCreateClient(): result = true
    formWriteln: ------ Succesfully initialized via spawning a new client
    SMART: Could Not Call
    SMART: Could Not Call
    formWriteln: ---- initSmart() result = True
    formWriteln: ---- Waiting up to 5 minutes for RS to load...
    SMART: Decrementing refcount [64]
    formWriteln: ---- Succesfully freed SMART[64]
    formWriteln: Successfully executed.
    SMART: EIOS Releasing Target
    SMART: Decrementing refcount [64]
    SMART: Freeing client data [64]
    any idea what may be causing this?
    (I set up simba using this tutorial villavu.com/forum/showthread.php?t=114281)
    Last edited by qwas789; 03-13-2017 at 11:27 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Scranton
    Posts
    496
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Quoted
    220 Post(s)

    Default

    I can't tell you what that error means but I will say that SRL-6 is the include used for rs3, not osrs. The maintained color include for osrs is Aerolib.

    Tester:
    Simba Code:
    program new;
    {$DEFINE SMART}
    {$i AeroLib/AeroLib.Simba}

    begin
      initAL();
    end.

    But if you have problems loading rs3 SMART chances are you will have problems loading the osrs one.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)

    Default

    Yeah I tried with rs3 after osrs one did not work. Accidentally copied the rs3 one

    Error I get with osrs one is this:

    Code:
    Loading plugin libsmartremote32 at C:\Simba\Plugins\
    Plugin libsmartremote32 already loaded: 0
    SMART: EIOS Requesting Target
    SMART: Client possibly paired to us
    SMART: Already paired: Incrementing refcount
    SMART: Target Identifier: 0x2327f0
    SMART: EIOS requested image buffer
    SMART: Base: 0x5340000 Off: 4124
    formWriteln: [AL] Loading SMART: World 83
    X Error of failed request:  BadValue (integer parameter out of range for operation)
      Major opcode of failed request:  151 (XFree86-VidModeExtension)
      Minor opcode of failed request:  15 (XF86VidModeSetGamma)
      Value in failed request:  0x32000a0
      Serial number of failed request:  687
      Current serial number in output stream:  704
    Gonna add that I am using microsoft azure service and the vps has ubuntu 16.04
    Last edited by qwas789; 03-14-2017 at 12:06 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    680
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Quoted
    341 Post(s)

    Default

    Have you thought of using a virtualbox? with windows 7. this way you can use smart, osbuddy or even the the classic runescape client.

    it is a little CPU hungry. But i have found it more than a sufficient work around than WINE.

    <------------------>



  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    England
    Posts
    401
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Quoted
    176 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AFools View Post
    Have you thought of using a virtualbox? with windows 7. this way you can use smart, osbuddy or even the the classic runescape client.

    it is a little CPU hungry. But i have found it more than a sufficient work around than WINE.
    If only one had the CPU/RAM!

    EDIT: I'd recommend qemu/kvm/virt-manager as it would be easier on resources than virtualbox, as well as native performance if your PC has requirements for the hardware acceleration (Intel VT-d/VT-x or AMD-V/AMD-Vi, Virtualisation/IOMMU). Your cpu/mobo/gpu need to support it though!

    Even so, is there any chance you could use another distro if not? (or one that isn't imaged by MS)
    Yer a wizard, 'oopi

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)

    Default

    Yeah, I installed microsoft server 2016. Now I can get smart working.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    England
    Posts
    401
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Quoted
    176 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by qwas789 View Post
    Yeah, I installed microsoft server 2016. Now I can get smart working.
    Ah, fair enough. If it works
    Yer a wizard, 'oopi

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    680
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Quoted
    341 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by anth_ View Post
    If only one had the CPU/RAM!

    EDIT: I'd recommend qemu/kvm/virt-manager as it would be easier on resources than virtualbox, as well as native performance if your PC has requirements for the hardware acceleration (Intel VT-d/VT-x or AMD-V/AMD-Vi, Virtualisation/IOMMU). Your cpu/mobo/gpu need to support it though!

    Even so, is there any chance you could use another distro if not? (or one that isn't imaged by MS)
    I had zero luck with the natives virtual.. kvm/virt-manager.. kept rejecting my windows cd and iso's so i gave up. I have the ram/cpu anyway.. so im not bothered. I have setup usb wifi adapter and even use different internet connections for each.

    So far so good.

    <------------------>



Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •