Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 34

Thread: SPS World Map

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    4,867
    Mentioned
    74 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1663 Post(s)

    Default SPS World Map

    I made a SPS map of the entire F2P surface using Brandon's OGL plugin. It can be used for SPS walking. There are no symbols and no dots.

    Click image for full resolution image:


    Instructions to use in a script:

    1. Go to the world map http://i.imgur.com/Z4f3EaR.png
    2. Right click the image, select 'Save image as...'
    3. Open the map using paint by rightclicking it and selecting the edit option.
    4. using the selector tool, select the area that you would like to use. It is recommended to select at least a minimap width margin.
    5. Copy your selection and create a new paint file. Paste in your map selection.
    6. Save your map as a png. (my_map.png for example)
    7. Congratulations, you now have an SPS map that you can create paths with using a path creator. There is a tutorial on how to do that here.


    Want to help expand this map to P2P areas, your own maps, or want to create cave maps? Here's what you can do:

    1. If you do not have it, get Brandon's OGL plugin/GLX include from here.
    2. use the attached script to save the current loaded map segment. You can change the path to your desktop for convenience.
    3. Use GIMP or Photoshop to stitch the images together. Tutorial on that here.
    4. If you want to add it to the world map, add it, export it to a png, and upload it to this thread. If it's done right I'll update the main post with your version.
    5. If you're making cave maps or other maps that will not connect to the surface map here, make sure to set the background colour of your map to black.


    SaveMinimap:
    Simba Code:
    program new;
    {$DEFINE SMART}
    {$include_once GLX/Setup.Simba}
    var
      S : TSmart;
    begin
      SetupGLX(S, 800, 600);
      glDebug(GL_DEBUG_MODE.GL_MODE_Models, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 960, 640);
      SaveBitmap(GL_MapToImage, ScriptPath + '\map' + ToStr(Random(10000000)) + '.bmp');
    end.

    Hopefully this is a useful resource for people who want to use SPS but don't want to have to go though the hassle of making a map themselves.

    Credits:
    @Brandon; for his awesome OGL plugin. Without it you'd have to take screenshots of the minimap, hope the rotation isn't too much off, and then remove dots and symbols manually. No fun at all.

    Changelog:
    Code:
    12/12/2014 - First version. Includes F2P surface.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    758
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Quoted
    365 Post(s)

    Default

    great work dude!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    46696E6C616E64
    Posts
    3,069
    Mentioned
    44 Post(s)
    Quoted
    302 Post(s)

    Default

    Do you want to get repped? This is how you get repped.
    There used to be something meaningful here.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    157
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Quoted
    57 Post(s)

    Default

    Such strong mental fortitude, to actually do this..very nice work.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    4,231
    Mentioned
    112 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1869 Post(s)

    Default

    You are a god.
    GitLab projects | Simba 1.4 | Find me on IRC or Discord | ScapeRune scripts | Come play bot ScapeRune!

    <BenLand100> we're just in the transitional phase where society reclassifies guns as Bad™ before everyone gets laser pistols

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    The land of the long white cloud.
    Posts
    3,702
    Mentioned
    261 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2006 Post(s)

    Default

    @BMWxi;

    Hey you know what, if you grabbed the rest of the p2p world, you could cut it up and then we could chuck all the chunks in the sps/img folder like we used to have.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    23 Post(s)

    Default

    how long does it take to use the entire map...haha

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    4,231
    Mentioned
    112 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1869 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zef Style View Post
    how long does it take to use the entire map...haha
    I'd imagine it'd take pretty long to calculate your player's position if you let SPS use the whole thing. Possibly thirty seconds or a minute, it's huge! 3300x4000 pixels.
    You're meant to slice off a piece you want to use, make sure to credit BMWxi for his hard work
    GitLab projects | Simba 1.4 | Find me on IRC or Discord | ScapeRune scripts | Come play bot ScapeRune!

    <BenLand100> we're just in the transitional phase where society reclassifies guns as Bad™ before everyone gets laser pistols

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    4,867
    Mentioned
    74 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1663 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zef Style View Post
    how long does it take to use the entire map...haha
    Quote Originally Posted by KeepBotting View Post
    I'd imagine it'd take pretty long to calculate your player's position if you let SPS use the whole thing. Possibly thirty seconds or a minute, it's huge! 3300x4000 pixels.
    You're meant to slice off a piece you want to use, make sure to credit BMWxi for his hard work
    It is faster than I imagined.



    of course 3.5 seconds is slower than you would want for script use, so slicing into smaller segments is still a good idea.

    Edit:

    varrock too, even though I forgot to update varrock square and the map has the version without snow:



    SPS is magic.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    4,231
    Mentioned
    112 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1869 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BMWxi View Post
    It is faster than I imagined.

    http://i.imgur.com/wvvr6kM.png

    of course 3.5 seconds is slower than you would want for script use, so slicing into smaller segments is still a good idea.

    Edit:

    varrock too, even though I forgot to update varrock square and the map has the version without snow:

    http://i.imgur.com/Zmafirv.png

    SPS is magic.
    That second image ... how even ... what black sorcery is this?
    GitLab projects | Simba 1.4 | Find me on IRC or Discord | ScapeRune scripts | Come play bot ScapeRune!

    <BenLand100> we're just in the transitional phase where society reclassifies guns as Bad™ before everyone gets laser pistols

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    23 Post(s)

    Default

    You beat me to testing it, but yeah 3 seconds is less than I thought..

    Is anyone else having issues with SPS @ any angle?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    4,231
    Mentioned
    112 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1869 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zef Style View Post
    You beat me to testing it, but yeah 3 seconds is less than I thought..

    Is anyone else having issues with SPS @ any angle?
    I'm getting variations of 3-5 TPoints but that's normal and doesn't really make a difference.

    How severe are your issues?
    GitLab projects | Simba 1.4 | Find me on IRC or Discord | ScapeRune scripts | Come play bot ScapeRune!

    <BenLand100> we're just in the transitional phase where society reclassifies guns as Bad™ before everyone gets laser pistols

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    995
    Mentioned
    145 Post(s)
    Quoted
    596 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BMWxi View Post
    It is faster than I imagined.

    http://i.imgur.com/wvvr6kM.png

    of course 3.5 seconds is slower than you would want for script use, so slicing into smaller segments is still a good idea.
    ...

    SPS is magic.
    I admit, I was surprised that SPS was that fast.
    Also thanks for the map!

    Having fun

    Testing the same map with another method for finding my position:



    This is how fast I got it without getting any false positives (afaik). 600ms is not that bad tho, even tho I was hoping to get it even faster. But that fucking minimap scaling in RS was fucking up my results when I tried to get it faster.

    Note: This is not a fair comparison, the method I use is mostly untested, whereas SPS is known to be pretty stable, and I kinda doubt I'll get this one as stable as (I think) SPS is, I am just playing around :P

    Last edited by slacky; 12-13-2014 at 10:20 AM. Reason: Cleaning
    !No priv. messages please

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    4,867
    Mentioned
    74 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1663 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by slacky View Post
    I admit, I was surprised that SPS was is that fast.
    Also thanks for the map!

    Testing the same map with another method for finding my position:

    http://i.imgur.com/cPmq76a.png

    This is how fast I got it without getting any false positives (afaik). 600ms is not that bad tho, even tho I was hoping to get it even faster. But that fucking minimap scaling in RS was fucking up my results when I tried to get it faster.

    PS: This is not a perfectly fair comparison, without going in to datail.. :P
    600ms is impressive, looking forward to more on your method.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    23 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KeepBotting View Post
    I'm getting variations of 3-5 TPoints but that's normal and doesn't really make a difference.

    How severe are your issues?

    My calculations are completely wrong for any angle other than north

    throwing values like: [1300, -300]

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    4,231
    Mentioned
    112 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1869 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zef Style View Post
    My calculations are completely wrong for any angle other than north

    throwing values like: [1300, -300]
    Have you set spsAnyAngle to true after setting up your map with .setup() ?

    e.g.
    Simba Code:
    map.setup('varrock', '');
      spsAnyAngle := true;
      writeDebug('Map has been initalized.');
    GitLab projects | Simba 1.4 | Find me on IRC or Discord | ScapeRune scripts | Come play bot ScapeRune!

    <BenLand100> we're just in the transitional phase where society reclassifies guns as Bad™ before everyone gets laser pistols

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    23 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KeepBotting View Post
    Have you set spsAnyAngle to true after setting up your map with .setup() ?

    e.g.
    Simba Code:
    map.setup('varrock', '');
      spsAnyAngle := true;
      writeDebug('Map has been initalized.');
    Yes, as I am debuging directly inside the function "SPS_PosToMM"...I am reaching the rotatepoint

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    England
    Posts
    3,072
    Mentioned
    296 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1094 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zef Style View Post
    Yes, as I am debuging directly inside the function "SPS_PosToMM"...I am reaching the rotatepoint
    I might have made some really bad commit not thinking, go to srl/lib/sps-rs3 and comment out line 136 (and save), and try again.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    23 Post(s)

    Default

    @Olly, that was not the issue

    My rotatepoint is messed up, does this work correctly for anyone else?

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    East Coast USA
    Posts
    770
    Mentioned
    61 Post(s)
    Quoted
    364 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zef Style View Post
    My rotatepoint is messed up, does this work correctly for anyone else?
    It's working for me but not as well as north facing.

    I tried the big map around taverley with something like 7, 300, .4

    Times were around 1.2s. It worked rotated but had some glitches. I didn't try it with spsanyangle false.

    Tested directx with and without olly's line commented. Didn't seem to make a difference.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    East Coast
    Posts
    733
    Mentioned
    81 Post(s)
    Quoted
    364 Post(s)

    Default

    if only this weren't so small. Though it might still work idk.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    4,231
    Mentioned
    112 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1869 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ross View Post
    if only this weren't so small. Though it might still work idk.
    Is that the worldmap? iirc the minimap and worldmap look very different from each other
    GitLab projects | Simba 1.4 | Find me on IRC or Discord | ScapeRune scripts | Come play bot ScapeRune!

    <BenLand100> we're just in the transitional phase where society reclassifies guns as Bad™ before everyone gets laser pistols

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    4,867
    Mentioned
    74 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1663 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KeepBotting View Post
    Is that the worldmap? iirc the minimap and worldmap look very different from each other
    It looks like the minimap but at less that 100% magnification. So whoever made it might have the full resolution one, but this one won't work I think.

    Edit: This might be the safemode minimap but it isn't the OGL/DX minimap.

    There are a lot of differences in colour:

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    4,231
    Mentioned
    112 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1869 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BMWxi View Post
    It looks like the minimap but at less that 100% magnification. So whoever made it might have the full resolution one, but this one won't work I think.

    Edit: This might be the safemode minimap but it isn't the OGL/DX minimap.

    There are a lot of differences in colour:
    I know Taste @ powerbot has a RS emulator of comparable revision to current (i.e. it's RS3)

    I've asked him for the "world minimap image," as it were, but he got back to me once saying he didn't have it at the time. Perhaps I'll ask again. It makes sense - the entire minimap has got to be in the cache somewhere.
    GitLab projects | Simba 1.4 | Find me on IRC or Discord | ScapeRune scripts | Come play bot ScapeRune!

    <BenLand100> we're just in the transitional phase where society reclassifies guns as Bad™ before everyone gets laser pistols

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    91
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    41 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BMWxi View Post
    It is faster than I imagined.



    of course 3.5 seconds is slower than you would want for script use, so slicing into smaller segments is still a good idea.

    Edit:

    varrock too, even though I forgot to update varrock square and the map has the version without snow:



    SPS is magic.
    How can I debug my sps map like that :O
    Please teach me!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •