Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: uptext is back in todays update

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    437
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Quoted
    165 Post(s)

    Default uptext is back in todays update

    You need to activate it in the interface settings.
    Quick find code:*15-16-122-65746594

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    4,231
    Mentioned
    112 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1869 Post(s)

    Default

    Wow, cool! Thanks for the heads up.

    Additional info: http://services.runescape.com/m=foru...6,122,65746594

    Players fond of the retro mouseover text in the top-left can now toggle it on in Interface Settings. The modern mouseover text option has also been migrated to Interface Settings.




    You can have both enabled at once
    GitLab projects | Simba 1.4 | Find me on IRC or Discord | ScapeRune scripts | Come play bot ScapeRune!

    <BenLand100> we're just in the transitional phase where society reclassifies guns as Bad™ before everyone gets laser pistols

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Glorious Nippon
    Posts
    1,011
    Mentioned
    50 Post(s)
    Quoted
    505 Post(s)

    Default

    This is actually pretty cool. I never really liked the RS3-style mouseover text and it would occasionally block things on the mainscreen.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    23 Post(s)

    Default

    This is good, sometimes that mouse text gets in the way.

    How does SRL handle the old uptext?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    4,231
    Mentioned
    112 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1869 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zef Style View Post
    This is good, sometimes that mouse text gets in the way.

    How does SRL handle the old uptext?
    Atm in SRL-6 there are no functions that can read it (however Simba's native functions can)

    But back in the day, we used bitmap font sets to recognize the characters. I'm sure if you hacked SRL-5's UpText functions into SRL-6, it would work (at least to some degree)

    Getting Tesseract reading UpText probably wouldn't be too much harder
    GitLab projects | Simba 1.4 | Find me on IRC or Discord | ScapeRune scripts | Come play bot ScapeRune!

    <BenLand100> we're just in the transitional phase where society reclassifies guns as Bad™ before everyone gets laser pistols

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    23 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KeepBotting View Post
    Atm in SRL-6 there are no functions that can read it (however Simba's native functions can)

    But back in the day, we used bitmap font sets to recognize the characters. I'm sure if you hacked SRL-5's UpText functions into SRL-6, it would work (at least to some degree)

    Getting Tesseract reading UpText probably wouldn't be too much harder
    I haven't had time to mess around with it yet, but the functions in Simba, rs_GetUpText, ect all use those old bitmaps?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    4,231
    Mentioned
    112 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1869 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zef Style View Post
    I haven't had time to mess around with it yet, but the functions in Simba, rs_GetUpText, ect all use those old bitmaps?
    Yeah. Pretty sure SRL-5's functions were mainly wrappers to rs_GetUpText

    For example https://github.com/SRL/SRL-5/blob/18...ext.simba#L393
    Last edited by KeepBotting; 02-09-2016 at 03:07 AM.
    GitLab projects | Simba 1.4 | Find me on IRC or Discord | ScapeRune scripts | Come play bot ScapeRune!

    <BenLand100> we're just in the transitional phase where society reclassifies guns as Bad™ before everyone gets laser pistols

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    995
    Mentioned
    145 Post(s)
    Quoted
    596 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KeepBotting View Post
    Getting Tesseract reading UpText probably wouldn't be too much harder
    That would be quite a bit harder. Like to the extent that while at it you might just as well just write your own OCR implementation specialized to that text. The complexities comes from filtering background from the characters without also getting a notable amount of noise (tesseract wont do this for you). Once that's done, you basically have an OCR core, it's just a matter of comparing to some fontset now, Simba can do that for you at this point.

    "SimpleOCR" comes shipped with SRL updates now AFAIK, it should work without any issues for this, just some basic setup is needed. Tho I would not rule out Simbas "UpText" method, if that one works as easily, then great!

    Edit:
    Tested with SimpleOCR - on the picture KeepBotting provided:
    pascal Code:
    {$loadlib SimpleOCR}
    var
      OCR:TSimpleOCR;
      str:String;
      filterRules:TCompareRules = [-1, 85, True, 55]; (* any color, 85 tolerance, Use shadow!, shadow not brighter than 55! *)
    begin
      OCR.Init(FontPath+'UpCharsEx');

      OCR.ClientID := ExportImageTarget(); //Make sure the OCR target is up to date. Call before recognize
      str := OCR.Recognize(IntToBox(7,9,500,30), filterRules);  //would be [5,5,470,25] - or thereabout in RS
      WriteLn(str);
    end;
    Output: Chop down Tree / 2 more options
    Last edited by slacky; 02-09-2016 at 11:21 AM.
    !No priv. messages please

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    5,762
    Mentioned
    136 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2739 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by slacky View Post
    That would be quite a bit harder. Like to the extent that while at it you might just as well just write your own OCR implementation specialized to that text.

    The complexities comes from filtering background from the characters without also getting a notable amount of noise (tesseract wont do this for you). Once that's done, you basically have an OCR core, it's just a matter of comparing to some fontset now.
    uptext looks the same as the old uptext from eoc

    Could prob just revive rs_getUpText that was built into simba

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    995
    Mentioned
    145 Post(s)
    Quoted
    596 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rj View Post
    uptext looks the same as the old uptext from eoc

    Could prob just revive rs_getUpText that was built into simba
    Indeed. That should works well =)
    !No priv. messages please

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    England
    Posts
    3,072
    Mentioned
    296 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1094 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by slacky View Post
    Indeed. That should works well =)
    No that looks near enough the exact as OSR, your SimpleOCR will destroy that, the pre-eoc uptext was much smaller - you can check the UpChars font Simba ships with.

    e: more of a reply to rjj, this will do though.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Pitcairn Island
    Posts
    288
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Quoted
    166 Post(s)

    Default

    This is cool! mouseOverText is shitty when it blocks items in your inventory/bank when you hover over other items.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    995
    Mentioned
    145 Post(s)
    Quoted
    596 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Olly View Post
    No that looks near enough the exact as OSR, your SimpleOCR will destroy that, the pre-eoc uptext was much smaller - you can check the UpChars font Simba ships with.
    Maybe the chars was smaller, but simba comes with "UpCharsEx" which seems to fit, I did run a test that worked well on the image KB provided.
    !No priv. messages please

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •