Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: OpenGL for OSRS

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Hawaii
    Posts
    3,816
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Quoted
    128 Post(s)

    Default OpenGL for OSRS

    Hey guys.

    Well, recently I got OSBuddy premium to check out its new OpenGL features. It looks nice and adds a modernish feel to the game, though it's still in beta

    So I'm wondering if it's possible down the line to have OpenGl created for OSRS? What I'm understanding from Jagex (through reddit monitoring) they're taking a wait and see approach to this and see how it does within OSBuddy. But even then, they may not add OpenGL support for OSRS on their side.

    So I'm wondering if it's possible to run SMART on OSBuddy, and using its OpenGL plugin in the future...

    Or rip that OSBuddy OpenGL plugin and incorporate into SMART and go from there?

    Just some ideas. I feel like having OpenGL for OSRS will attract a lot more activity back to SRL, allow for there to be better and complex scripts, and decrease the reliance on Reflection.
    Faith is an oasis in the heart which will never be reached by the caravan of thinking.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,969
    Mentioned
    54 Post(s)
    Quoted
    497 Post(s)

    Default

    If it loads the OpenGL plugin then you can hook it - regardless whether you use smart or not.

    Not sure if you can load it in smart though.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Arkansas, USA
    Posts
    7,186
    Mentioned
    244 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1310 Post(s)

    Default

    I'm not sure if the download links for the zipped file still work but I'd check out this thread where it was originally developed for Simba:
    https://www.moparscape.org/community...github/523561/

    And SilabSoft's source on Github:
    https://github.com/silabsoft/SimbaGL

    I don't have OSBuddy premium, whatever that is, so I cannot test it myself. I know however a select few OSRS private servers offer OGL buffers, such as Alora. But if you have access to OSRS in OGL I think that old source is a good place to start.

    Current project:
    [AeroLib 2.0]


    Did you know?
    J1407b, dubbed "Saturn on steriods", has a ring system 200 times larger than Saturn's own rings.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,969
    Mentioned
    54 Post(s)
    Quoted
    497 Post(s)

    Default

    @Flight; Not sure a complete re-write is needed. I think anyone attempting this can first attempt to load the one we're currently using. Not so sure the current one wouldnt work. Maybe the GLX segment of it needs to be re-written.
    https://github.com/Brandon-T/GLX
    https://github.com/Brandon-T/SRL-GLX

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Arkansas, USA
    Posts
    7,186
    Mentioned
    244 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1310 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kasi View Post
    @Flight; Not sure a complete re-write is needed. I think anyone attempting this can first attempt to load the one we're currently using. Not so sure the current one wouldnt work. Maybe the GLX segment of it needs to be re-written.
    https://github.com/Brandon-T/GLX
    https://github.com/Brandon-T/SRL-GLX
    Hopefully not, considering how much of the current OGL plugin is already developed. But I wasn't sure how restricted it is to SMART and/or RS3 so I dismissed that possibility right away.

    Current project:
    [AeroLib 2.0]


    Did you know?
    J1407b, dubbed "Saturn on steriods", has a ring system 200 times larger than Saturn's own rings.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,969
    Mentioned
    54 Post(s)
    Quoted
    497 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Flight View Post
    Hopefully not, considering how much of the current OGL plugin is already developed. But I wasn't sure how restricted it is to SMART and/or RS3 so I dismissed that possibility right away.
    Yeah, you dont need smart to run the opengl plugin. You can just throw it in the JagexLauncher/bin folder and force the JagexLauncher.exe to load that one instead of your system one or the one that jagex gives you (i forget which), you ofcourse still need to load GLX. I think Brandon has a newer version of the plugins that aren't on git yet.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    C:\Simba\
    Posts
    435
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Quoted
    60 Post(s)

    Default

    Does Jagex do any effort to detect a modified OpenGL plugin?
    @Kasi;
    Feel free to ask me any questions, I will do my best to answer them!

    Previously known as YouPee.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,969
    Mentioned
    54 Post(s)
    Quoted
    497 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Joopi View Post
    Does Jagex do any effort to detect a modified OpenGL plugin?
    @Kasi;
    Unlikely that they check for signed binaries. I don't think it's a reliable way to ban on the basis of. Some people compile their own opengl binaries.
    Last edited by Kasi; 02-08-2017 at 05:49 PM.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •