Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Running SMART with wine

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    99
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    30 Post(s)

    Default Running SMART with wine

    Hello, I get the following error with no SMART. Everything is updated to my knowledge.

    SRL: Logfile = C:\Simba\Includes\SRL-6/logs/SRL log (23-07-18 at 10.07.20 PM).txt
    -- setupSRL()
    ---- Setting up SRL...
    ---- attempting to spawn smart, attempt #: 1
    ---- initSmart():
    ------ Attempting to pair to a previously spawned client
    ------ smartPairToExistingClient():
    -------- Found no free clients to pair to
    ------ smartPairToExistingClient(): result = false
    ------ Attempting to spawn a new client..
    ------ smartCreateClient():
    -------- getJavaPath():
    ---------- Attempting to search for your Java path
    ---------- Found your java path @ C:\Program Files\Java\jre7\bin\java.exe
    -------- getJavaPath()
    -------- Root: http://world3.runescape.com/
    -------- Params: ,j0,f7561514478874032997
    -------- Using plugins "OpenGL32.dll,d3d9.dll"
    ------ Failed to spawn a SMART client
    ---- initSmart() result = False
    ---- attempting to spawn smart, attempt #: 2
    ---- initSmart():
    ------ Attempting to pair to a previously spawned client
    ------ smartPairToExistingClient():
    -------- Found no free clients to pair to
    ------ smartPairToExistingClient(): result = false
    ------ Attempting to spawn a new client..
    ------ smartCreateClient():
    -------- getJavaPath():
    ---------- Attempting to search for your Java path
    ---------- Found your java path @ C:\Program Files\Java\jre7\bin\java.exe
    -------- getJavaPath()
    -------- Root: http://world4.runescape.com/
    -------- Params: ,j0,f66395189513767525
    -------- Using plugins "OpenGL32.dll,d3d9.dll"
    ------ Failed to spawn a SMART client
    ---- initSmart() result = False
    ---- attempting to spawn smart, attempt #: 3
    ---- initSmart():
    ------ Attempting to pair to a previously spawned client
    ------ smartPairToExistingClient():
    -------- Found no free clients to pair to
    ------ smartPairToExistingClient(): result = false
    ------ Attempting to spawn a new client..
    ------ smartCreateClient():
    -------- getJavaPath():
    ---------- Attempting to search for your Java path
    ---------- Found your java path @ C:\Program Files\Java\jre7\bin\java.exe
    -------- getJavaPath()
    -------- Root: http://world14.runescape.com/
    -------- Params: ,j0,f597641898925592549
    -------- Using plugins "OpenGL32.dll,d3d9.dll"
    ------ Failed to spawn a SMART client
    ---- initSmart() result = False
    ---- attempting to spawn smart, attempt #: 4
    ---- initSmart():
    ------ Attempting to pair to a previously spawned client
    ------ smartPairToExistingClient():
    -------- Found no free clients to pair to
    ------ smartPairToExistingClient(): result = false
    ------ Attempting to spawn a new client..
    ------ smartCreateClient():
    -------- getJavaPath():
    ---------- Attempting to search for your Java path
    ---------- Found your java path @ C:\Program Files\Java\jre7\bin\java.exe
    -------- getJavaPath()
    -------- Root: http://world30.runescape.com/
    -------- Params: ,j0,f4819911664929917413
    -------- Using plugins "OpenGL32.dll,d3d9.dll"
    ------ Failed to spawn a SMART client
    ---- initSmart() result = False
    ---- attempting to spawn smart, attempt #: 5
    ---- initSmart():
    ------ Attempting to pair to a previously spawned client
    ------ smartPairToExistingClient():
    -------- Found no free clients to pair to
    ------ smartPairToExistingClient(): result = false
    ------ Attempting to spawn a new client..
    ------ smartCreateClient():
    -------- getJavaPath():
    ---------- Attempting to search for your Java path
    ---------- Found your java path @ C:\Program Files\Java\jre7\bin\java.exe
    -------- getJavaPath()
    -------- Root: http://world37.runescape.com/
    -------- Params: ,j0,f2927253714507655237
    -------- Using plugins "OpenGL32.dll,d3d9.dll"
    ------ Failed to spawn a SMART client
    ---- initSmart() result = False
    ---- attempting to spawn smart, attempt #: 6
    ---- initSmart():
    ------ Attempting to pair to a previously spawned client
    ------ smartPairToExistingClient():
    -------- Found no free clients to pair to
    ------ smartPairToExistingClient(): result = false
    ------ Attempting to spawn a new client..
    ------ smartCreateClient():
    -------- getJavaPath():
    ---------- Attempting to search for your Java path
    ---------- Found your java path @ C:\Program Files\Java\jre7\bin\java.exe
    -------- getJavaPath()
    -------- Root: http://world51.runescape.com/
    -------- Params: ,j0,f746614393662217029
    -------- Using plugins "OpenGL32.dll,d3d9.dll"
    ------ Failed to spawn a SMART client
    ---- initSmart() result = False
    ---- Waiting up to 5 minutes for RS to load...
    ---- 1 minute(s) have passed, client is not ready yet
    “Oh, hi. So, how are you holding up? BECAUSE I'M A POTATO"
    http://www.southweststandard.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    4,197
    Mentioned
    112 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1857 Post(s)

    Default

    Could I convince you to try running natively, instead of through Wine? https://villavu.com/forum/showthread.php?t=118324

    You will probably have a better experience.

    At a guess, I would say try using Java 8 and see if that will get SMART launching from inside Wine.
    GitLab projects | Simba for Linux | Find me on IRC or Discord | OSRS scripts | Come play ScapeRune!

    <BenLand100> we're just in the transitional phase where society reclassifies guns as Bad™ before everyone gets laser pistols

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    99
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    30 Post(s)

    Default

    how would I do that for Mac? Java 8 would not install under Wine.app
    “Oh, hi. So, how are you holding up? BECAUSE I'M A POTATO"
    http://www.southweststandard.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    4,197
    Mentioned
    112 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1857 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by klae17 View Post
    how would I do that for Mac? Java 8 would not install under Wine.app
    Oh, you're on a Mac. I didn't realize.

    Good luck, if you can get Simba, SRL, and a script running on macOS please tell us how you did it.

    You will have a much better experience using Linux or even Windows. Really don't think much is going to work on a Mac, sorry.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Not here.
    Posts
    5,420
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Quoted
    241 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KeepBotting View Post
    Oh, you're on a Mac. I didn't realize.

    Good luck, if you can get Simba, SRL, and a script running on macOS please tell us how you did it.

    You will have a much better experience using Linux or even Windows. Really don't think much is going to work on a Mac, sorry.
    ? I've done it through wine plenty of times.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    4,197
    Mentioned
    112 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1857 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tls View Post
    ? I've done it through wine plenty of times.
    Right, so have I, but never on a Mac.

    I can't imagine the process would be too dissimilar, Wine should be the same anywhere it is used but I can't confirm this is the case. And OP can't get Java 8 to install which isn't a good sign, and certainly has never been an issue for me with Wine on Linux.

    If you have any specific advice on the issue I'm sure it would be appreciated. I don't own or use any macOS devices so my best course of action would be to switch to a known good platform that I have worked with in the past.

    Edit: here are some links. There is a tutorial from 2011 which instructs in the use of Winebottler https://villavu.com/forum/showthread.php?t=69693

    There are more recent threads saying that the method doesn't work anymore. This thread specifically mentions being unable to install Java https://villavu.com/forum/showthread.php?t=117735

    Here is a thread where using a virtual machine is discussed as an alternative to Wine https://villavu.com/forum/showthread.php?t=112534
    Last edited by KeepBotting; 07-25-2018 at 07:05 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Program TEXAS home of AUTOERS
    Posts
    7,935
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Quoted
    235 Post(s)

    Default

    I have tried WINE on my Macbook Pro, I gave up 5 minutes in.

    Solution for me:
    Went out and bought a copy of Parallels
    https://www.parallels.com/


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    483
    Mentioned
    30 Post(s)
    Quoted
    328 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by P1nky View Post
    Macbook Pro

    Solution for me:
    Went out and bought a copy of Parallels
    https://www.parallels.com/
    Why not BootCamp?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    4,197
    Mentioned
    112 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1857 Post(s)

    Default

    Parallels and Boot Camp are certainly good solutions, but I assume they require you to own a copy of Windows? You could also use a VM, since Macs are generally pretty nice computers I'm sure you could run Windows 7 no problem.

    You could definitely install some GNU/Linux like Ubuntu on most Macbooks as well.

    Wine on macOS seems like the least intrusive option but it really doesn't appear to be working. Perhaps I could convince a friend to lend me a Mac to test with, or if somebody at SRL owns one and is willing to give me unsupervised remote access to it, I would not be opposed to working towards a solution. Possibly OP would have me take a peek with TeamViewer or some such. If anyone wants to help, shoot me a PM.
    GitLab projects | Simba for Linux | Find me on IRC or Discord | OSRS scripts | Come play ScapeRune!

    <BenLand100> we're just in the transitional phase where society reclassifies guns as Bad™ before everyone gets laser pistols

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    99
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    30 Post(s)

    Default

    I know it can be done, but even in VMware its not working.
    “Oh, hi. So, how are you holding up? BECAUSE I'M A POTATO"
    http://www.southweststandard.com

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    99
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    30 Post(s)

    Default

    That can work, whether I do it on VMware or Virtualbox or through wine I still get the same error. I used to be able to do it on my old Mac but with the new Mac I don't know what gives. I will test with Windows 7 instead of 10 and report back.
    “Oh, hi. So, how are you holding up? BECAUSE I'M A POTATO"
    http://www.southweststandard.com

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    4,197
    Mentioned
    112 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1857 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by klae17 View Post
    I know it can be done, but even in VMware its not working.
    Why won't it work in a VM? Assuming you mean a Windows VM, that would probably be easiest.

    Quote Originally Posted by klae17 View Post
    That can work, whether I do it on VMware or Virtualbox or through wine I still get the same error. I used to be able to do it on my old Mac but with the new Mac I don't know what gives. I will test with Windows 7 instead of 10 and report back.
    Same error as the one in your OP? Which version of Java did you install? Java 8 32-bit would be the one you'll want to go for.
    Last edited by KeepBotting; 07-25-2018 at 11:43 PM.
    GitLab projects | Simba for Linux | Find me on IRC or Discord | OSRS scripts | Come play ScapeRune!

    <BenLand100> we're just in the transitional phase where society reclassifies guns as Bad™ before everyone gets laser pistols

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    483
    Mentioned
    30 Post(s)
    Quoted
    328 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KeepBotting View Post
    Parallels and Boot Camp are certainly good solutions, but I assume they require you to own a copy of Windows? You could also use a VM, since Macs are generally pretty nice computers I'm sure you could run Windows 7 no problem.
    Parallels is a virtualization/VM software.

    BootCamp is a real windows partition on the mac, with drivers to enable support on the device.

    But yes, BootCamp would require you to have the windows ISO (freely available from Microsoft website) and the install procedure would require a genuine key.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, U.S.A.
    Posts
    69
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    7 Post(s)

    Default

    Do you see this line at the bottom of your log file?

    Progress Report:
    ---- 1 minute(s) have passed, client is not ready yet


    This line is printed by C:\Simba\Includes\srl-6\lib\core\client.simba. (Scroll to the bottom of the source file and you will see it.)

    It only prints if function isClientReady() has failed, i.e., returns false.

    You can go into isClientReady() and have it print information like this:

    Simba Code:
    print('The value of isLoggedIn() is ' + boolToStr(isLoggedIn()));

    right after the "begin" and before the "Result :=".

    It will probably say "false", so then you go into isLoggedIn() and insert another print statement.

    Anyone on this forum can help you do this. Eventually, we will find out what the problem is.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    4,197
    Mentioned
    112 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1857 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alien Technology View Post
    Do you see this line at the bottom of your log file?

    Progress Report:
    ---- 1 minute(s) have passed, client is not ready yet


    This line is printed by C:\Simba\Includes\srl-6\lib\core\client.simba. (Scroll to the bottom of the source file and you will see it.)

    It only prints if function isClientReady() has failed, i.e., returns false.

    You can go into isClientReady() and have it print information like this:

    Simba Code:
    print('The value of isLoggedIn() is ' + boolToStr(isLoggedIn()));

    right after the "begin" and before the "Result :=".

    It will probably say "false", so then you go into isLoggedIn() and insert another print statement.

    Anyone on this forum can help you do this. Eventually, we will find out what the problem is.
    Unfortunately I don't believe OP is reaching a stage in the process where SRL-6 is waiting for SMART to become ready. I don't believe this is a matter of debugging code, rather it's an environment issue.

    The root of the problem is that SMART will not spawn at all. I have guessed this is because Java 7 is being used, and recommended OP attempt to spawn SMART using Java 8, but OP reported that Java 8 would not install for him. This is where we are stuck at currently.

    I may have some time later to test Java 8 installation on Wine (on Linux) which I'm sure will be successful, but even so that does not help OP on his Mac.

    Not many Mac users in this community I don't think, and recent versions of Simba have had minimal-to-nonexistent testing/usage on macOS.
    Last edited by KeepBotting; 07-26-2018 at 05:43 PM.
    GitLab projects | Simba for Linux | Find me on IRC or Discord | OSRS scripts | Come play ScapeRune!

    <BenLand100> we're just in the transitional phase where society reclassifies guns as Bad™ before everyone gets laser pistols

  16. #16
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    99
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    30 Post(s)

    Default

    I will be testing Java 8 as well as Windows 7 and will report back. Would Java 8 32 Bit be okay with my Windows 10 64 bit? I tried the Java 8 64 and that is what failed.
    “Oh, hi. So, how are you holding up? BECAUSE I'M A POTATO"
    http://www.southweststandard.com

  17. #17
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    99
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    30 Post(s)

    Default

    Got it work load the client with Windows 7, VMWare, and Java 8 32 Bit. Once I press on the play now button it goes black. Maybe a Direct X problem? I tried to download it, but every time I do, it the browser freezes. Will try to download on the Mac and then transfer it to the windows machine.
    “Oh, hi. So, how are you holding up? BECAUSE I'M A POTATO"
    http://www.southweststandard.com

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    48
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    12 Post(s)

    Default

    Running Simba in Wine is indeed possible, i've got it up and running under ubuntu. But to install java you need to set wine on windows xp and run the setup silent as stated on the offical winehq site for java 8. Next you need to configure your Environment variable "PATH" and point it to your java installation.
    With "Windows Version" set to anything other than "Windows XP", the offline installer will not register the control panel or un-installer. This is the case in a 64-bit wine prefix with jre-8u162-windows-x64.exe regardless of windows version, although Java fully extracts to "Program Files" and all components are there.

    For simba you need to set wine to windows 7 mode and install it as normal.

    After you installed both, go to winecfg and open the java.exe and set it manually to windows xp mode then open the simba.exe and set it to windows 7 mode.

    This is form the offical winehq website:

    What works

    Java .jar file opens and runs properly.

    What does not

    GUI Off-line Installer fails silently. Hangs. Process must be killed.

    Workarounds

    Run "winecfg" and set "Windows Version" to "Windows XP" or, if winetricks is installed, use command "winetricks winxp".

    GUI Off-line installer fails but the "silent" install option installs
    and registers all components including un-installer and control panel applet (accessible via command "wine control").

    Install from a terminal like so:

    wine jre-8u162-windows-i586.exe /s

    Simplify java use by creating (or adding to existing semi-colon delimited path list) :

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Envirionment

    PATH=c:\Program Files\Java\jre1.8.0_162\bin (REG_EXPAND_SZ)

    Start jar with:

    Registers properly and with "Thunar" or "Nautilus" (probably all file managers) can be selected with right-click "Open With Java(TM) Platform SE binary”. Otherwise commands such as these can be used:

    wine java -jar file.jar

    wine start java -jar "c:\Program Files\file.jar"

    What was not tested

    Not sure. JRE is vast.

    Hardware tested

    Graphics:

    GPU: Nvidia
    Driver: proprietary
    Additional Comments

    Final line of installation was:

    0087:fixme:wininet:query_global_option INTERNET_OPTION_PER_CONNECTION_OPTION stub
    0087:fixme:wininet:get_proxy_autoconfig_url no support on this platform

    Since all of the Java components registered properly, I would guess the install was 99% successful and some ancillary options couldn't be set because wine lacks the feature.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    4,197
    Mentioned
    112 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1857 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by symbiosis View Post
    Running Simba in Wine is indeed possible, i've got it up and running under ubuntu. But to install java you need to set wine on windows xp and run the setup silent as stated on the offical winehq site for java 8. Next you need to configure your Environment variable "PATH" and point it to your java installation.
    With "Windows Version" set to anything other than "Windows XP", the offline installer will not register the control panel or un-installer. This is the case in a 64-bit wine prefix with jre-8u162-windows-x64.exe regardless of windows version, although Java fully extracts to "Program Files" and all components are there.

    For simba you need to set wine to windows 7 mode and install it as normal.

    After you installed both, go to winecfg and open the java.exe and set it manually to windows xp mode then open the simba.exe and set it to windows 7 mode.

    This is form the offical winehq website:

    What works

    Java .jar file opens and runs properly.

    What does not

    GUI Off-line Installer fails silently. Hangs. Process must be killed.

    Workarounds

    Run "winecfg" and set "Windows Version" to "Windows XP" or, if winetricks is installed, use command "winetricks winxp".

    GUI Off-line installer fails but the "silent" install option installs
    and registers all components including un-installer and control panel applet (accessible via command "wine control").

    Install from a terminal like so:

    wine jre-8u162-windows-i586.exe /s

    Simplify java use by creating (or adding to existing semi-colon delimited path list) :

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Envirionment

    PATH=c:\Program Files\Java\jre1.8.0_162\bin (REG_EXPAND_SZ)

    Start jar with:

    Registers properly and with "Thunar" or "Nautilus" (probably all file managers) can be selected with right-click "Open With Java(TM) Platform SE binary”. Otherwise commands such as these can be used:

    wine java -jar file.jar

    wine start java -jar "c:\Program Files\file.jar"

    What was not tested

    Not sure. JRE is vast.

    Hardware tested

    Graphics:

    GPU: Nvidia
    Driver: proprietary
    Additional Comments

    Final line of installation was:

    0087:fixme:wininet:query_global_option INTERNET_OPTION_PER_CONNECTION_OPTION stub
    0087:fixme:wininet:get_proxy_autoconfig_url no support on this platform

    Since all of the Java components registered properly, I would guess the install was 99% successful and some ancillary options couldn't be set because wine lacks the feature.
    Are you aware that native builds of Simba are available for Linux? Check out the link in my sig for more info.
    GitLab projects | Simba for Linux | Find me on IRC or Discord | OSRS scripts | Come play ScapeRune!

    <BenLand100> we're just in the transitional phase where society reclassifies guns as Bad™ before everyone gets laser pistols

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    48
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    12 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KeepBotting View Post
    Are you aware that native builds of Simba are available for Linux? Check out the link in my sig for more info.
    I was aware of the simba development for linux, but I didn't know how far you actually are.
    Thanks for pointing me there.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •