Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 39

Thread: Project Help

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia (Faggot Region)
    Posts
    1,465
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    11 Post(s)

    Default Project Help

    I have a project to do in vb and i don't know vb i learn vb next year in school, my teacher allowed me to do this for next year because im ahead of the class, basically i have to make a booking system for a cinema (in vb).

    This is what i want to make it look like.



    The link to the project explanation is here. I would really like someone to help me thanks .
    Last edited by Simtoon; 10-02-2009 at 09:24 PM.


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    66
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    First: Learn VB.
    Second: Write program.

    Which part is the one you have problems right now?

    I think it's strange that you are taught Visual Basic. Its support ended 1,5 years ago and it's slowly but surely dying. Some programs written in Visual Basic are still maintained, but direction in new software is definitely .NET.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,593
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    I think he's talking about .NET.

    The teachers still call it Visual Basic, mainly because they are Edward Cullen. Also, it says Visual Basic in the title of the program, and nothing about .NET.

    Stupid teachers ^_______^

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1,345
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    And why do you need a window to select seats? For a theater, don't you just walk in and choose your seat? Or are you talking like, play or pantomime stuff?

    ~Sandstorm

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    421
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TViYH View Post
    I think he's talking about .NET.

    The teachers still call it Visual Basic, mainly because they are Edward Cullen. Also, it says Visual Basic in the title of the program, and nothing about .NET.

    Stupid teachers ^_______^
    I still call it visual basic. I am not a teacher.
    Quote Originally Posted by Cstrike View Post
    Why do I even try these things? I just shit my pants over this god damn tutorial. Fuck, that's uncleanable. I can't even wash that out because there's so much of my shit it will just stain everything else. If I put it in the washing machine, I'm sure to stain the sides.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,295
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Wouldnt be too hard, seems very simple.

    Rogeruk's Al-Kharid Tanner V1.1 [Released]
    Rogeruk's Barbarian Crafter [Coming Soon]
    Rogeruk's Guild Fisher [Coming Soon]
    !! - Taking Requests - !!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia (Faggot Region)
    Posts
    1,465
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    11 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sandstorm View Post
    And why do you need a window to select seats? For a theater, don't you just walk in and choose your seat? Or are you talking like, play or pantomime stuff?

    ~Sandstorm
    Some people like to choose where they sit, then it will be printed on the ticket...

    But if they dont select where to sit, then it will put a random seat.


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,295
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    This for Visual Basic or .NET?

    You have any understanding on VB?. You made any progress?

    Rogeruk's Al-Kharid Tanner V1.1 [Released]
    Rogeruk's Barbarian Crafter [Coming Soon]
    Rogeruk's Guild Fisher [Coming Soon]
    !! - Taking Requests - !!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,593
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    I made it using VB.NET, and sent the sauce to you on IRC.

    How is it?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia (Faggot Region)
    Posts
    1,465
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    11 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TViYH View Post
    I made it using VB.NET, and sent the sauce to you on IRC.

    How is it?
    Its ok, doesnt have all the features i want but i need to get vb.net

    Quote Originally Posted by rogeruk View Post
    This for Visual Basic or .NET?

    You have any understanding on VB?. You made any progress?
    Visual Basic. Not much, only added a the 2 combo boxers.

    I cant seem to get the second combo box it work how i like it.

    I do this
    vb Code:
    if Combo1.(something) = "Hulk" then
    Combo2.AddItem = "Hello World"
    end if

    i almost tried everything in something cant get it to work
    Last edited by Simtoon; 10-04-2009 at 05:34 AM.


  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,295
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    PHP Code:
    Private Sub Combo1_Click()
        
    Label1.Caption Combo1.Text
    End Sub

    Public Sub Form_Load()
      
    Combo1.AddItem ("Hello")
    End Sub 
    Basically on load it will add Hello to the combo list. When you select it it will change label1 caption to Hello (because of its text).

    You will have to make it load from a database and input the values into the combo box. Then load each films data

    Rogeruk's Al-Kharid Tanner V1.1 [Released]
    Rogeruk's Barbarian Crafter [Coming Soon]
    Rogeruk's Guild Fisher [Coming Soon]
    !! - Taking Requests - !!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia (Faggot Region)
    Posts
    1,465
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    11 Post(s)

    Default

    This is what i have.

    vb Code:
    Private Sub Combo2_Change()
    If Combo1.Text = "a1" Then
    Combo2.AddItem "b2"
    End If

    End Sub

    Private Sub Form_Load()
    Combo1.AddItem "a1"
    Combo1.AddItem "a2"
    Combo1.AddItem "a3"

    End Sub

    Doesnt seem to work.


  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,295
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Simtoon View Post
    This is what i have.

    vb Code:
    Private Sub Combo2_Change()
    If Combo1.Text = "a1" Then
    Combo2.AddItem "b2"
    End If

    End Sub

    Private Sub Form_Load()
    Combo1.AddItem "a1"
    Combo1.AddItem "a2"
    Combo1.AddItem "a3"

    End Sub

    Doesnt seem to work.
    Why do it like that?

    PHP Code:
    Private Sub Combo1_Click()
        If 
    Combo1.Text "a1" Then
            Combo2
    .AddItem "b2"
        
    End If
    End Sub

    Public Sub Form_Load()
        
    Combo1.AddItem "a1"
        
    Combo1.AddItem "a2"
        
    Combo1.AddItem "a3"
    End Sub 
    Try that.

    Rogeruk's Al-Kharid Tanner V1.1 [Released]
    Rogeruk's Barbarian Crafter [Coming Soon]
    Rogeruk's Guild Fisher [Coming Soon]
    !! - Taking Requests - !!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia (Faggot Region)
    Posts
    1,465
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    11 Post(s)

    Default

    OMG thanks so much now to get the rest working


  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,295
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Remember you'll have to use a database. Then simply load it using ADODB that way you can easily load and read everything you will need.

    Eg, If you select the film Ice Age 3, the show times 14:00, 16:30, 18:00 etc will come up.

    To the honest thats the hardest part you will get.

    Price / Change / Receipt will be piss easy to do and will take minutes.

    Make a good design too

    Rogeruk's Al-Kharid Tanner V1.1 [Released]
    Rogeruk's Barbarian Crafter [Coming Soon]
    Rogeruk's Guild Fisher [Coming Soon]
    !! - Taking Requests - !!

  16. #16
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia (Faggot Region)
    Posts
    1,465
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    11 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rogeruk View Post
    Remember you'll have to use a database. Then simply load it using ADODB that way you can easily load and read everything you will need.

    Eg, If you select the film Ice Age 3, the show times 14:00, 16:30, 18:00 etc will come up.

    To the honest thats the hardest part you will get.

    Price / Change / Receipt will be piss easy to do and will take minutes.

    Make a good design too
    I want to make it work with a database, like depending on the day it will show the correct movie times for the correct movie.

    Help?


  17. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,295
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    http://www.vb-helper.com/howto_ado_load_combo_list.html
    http://www.fontstuff.com/vba/vbatut10.htm

    Plenty of tutorials, if i did it for you then you aint going to learn.

    Rogeruk's Al-Kharid Tanner V1.1 [Released]
    Rogeruk's Barbarian Crafter [Coming Soon]
    Rogeruk's Guild Fisher [Coming Soon]
    !! - Taking Requests - !!

  18. #18
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia (Faggot Region)
    Posts
    1,465
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    11 Post(s)

    Default

    How said i needed you to do it for me? I wanted to learn.


  19. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,295
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Didnt say you did, just didnt wanna look like a unhelpful person by just posting links.

    Ill be happy to solve any problems you encounter.

    //Edit

    With the seats you could simple make a seats database with a column for each movie and then 1 - 30 rows and simply 1 for seat taken 0 for free.

    Rogeruk's Al-Kharid Tanner V1.1 [Released]
    Rogeruk's Barbarian Crafter [Coming Soon]
    Rogeruk's Guild Fisher [Coming Soon]
    !! - Taking Requests - !!

  20. #20
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia (Faggot Region)
    Posts
    1,465
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    11 Post(s)

    Default

    Do you know anything about getting system time?


  21. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,295
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    PHP Code:
    TimeValue(Now
    As date will return 00:25:58.

    Depends what format you want it im

    Rogeruk's Al-Kharid Tanner V1.1 [Released]
    Rogeruk's Barbarian Crafter [Coming Soon]
    Rogeruk's Guild Fisher [Coming Soon]
    !! - Taking Requests - !!

  22. #22
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia (Faggot Region)
    Posts
    1,465
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    11 Post(s)

    Default

    I made it added on a label how do i make it change the time according eg. when you start it the time is 12:00 but 1 min later its 12:01 how do you make to automatically change


  23. #23
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,295
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Create a timer and set it to update however often you want

    PHP Code:
    Private Sub Timer1_Timer()
    Label1.Caption TimeValue(Now)
    End Sub 
    Set to timer interval to 100 (100ms) and it will update the label to the current time. every 100 ms

    Rogeruk's Al-Kharid Tanner V1.1 [Released]
    Rogeruk's Barbarian Crafter [Coming Soon]
    Rogeruk's Guild Fisher [Coming Soon]
    !! - Taking Requests - !!

  24. #24
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia (Faggot Region)
    Posts
    1,465
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    11 Post(s)

    Default

    Thanks Great Help.


  25. #25
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    66
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    MSDN library can be very useful, IIRC it was included with Visual Studio 6.0.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •