Thread: How do I get Simba under Ubuntu ?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Default How do I get Simba under Ubuntu ?

Is it even possible at all? I've tried walking through the instructions in the wiki but I honestly couldn't figure anything out. I'm a total linux newbie :/

From what I've gathered, the steps are
    1. Download and install a particular version of Free Pascal Compiler
    --There are about sixty files of 3-5 different extensions under Linux/i386, which one do I need?
    2. Download and install a particular version of Lazarus (Bonus : current version doesn't work)
    --Where do I get this fabled version of Lazarus and how do I build/install it?
    3. Get source of Simba and build it using FPC and Lazarus
    --Wha?

Will it even work
    I don't check this place often, sorry.

Currently working on - Software Engineering degree. Thank you SRL for showing me the one true path

Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Quoted
    60 Post(s)

1. http://wizzup.org/simba/article/2
    2. Use Wine
    3. ???
    4. PROFIT!!!

Mentioned
    61 Post(s)
    Quoted
    63 Post(s)

Check Coh3n's Guide for it here.

~BraK

"Sometimes User's don't need the Answer spelled out with Code. Sometimes all they need is guidance and explanation of the logic to get where they are going."

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Umm...I sort of ran into same issue. I find it a bit weird to use wine for Simba as it runs natively too, but I guess wine is the only option to get EVERYTHING(read: extensions) to work fine under ubuntu, isn't it?

PS. If someone knows more about the issue of srl.sex not working natively on anything other than windows then I would really appreciate a basic explanation of the problem and some possible solutions to it. Thanks in advance
    A Chinese wiseman once said: "Shu ciu!", it was considered very smart, but now people know it means: "Something stinks here!"
    FalBuggySmelter v.1.31
    [Updated on the 1st of March 2010]